Me Myself & Him

Me Myself & Him

by Chris Tebbetts

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Overview

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli's Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and A. S. King's Still Life with Tornado, this story of parallel time lines cleverly explores how our choices can change and shape us--as well as the ways in which choices don't change the core of our being at all.

When Chris Schweitzer takes a hit of whippets and passes out face first on the cement, his nose isn't the only thing that changes forever. Instead of staying home with his friends for the last summer after high school, he's shipped off to live with his famous physicist but royal jerk of a father to prove he can "play by the rules" before Dad will pay for college.

Or . . . not.

In an alternate time line, Chris's parents remain blissfully ignorant about the accident, and life at home goes back to normal--until it doesn't. A new spark between his two best (straight) friends quickly turns Chris into a (gay) third wheel, and even worse, the truth about the whippets incident starts to unravel. As his summer explodes into a million messy pieces, Chris wonders how else things might have gone. Is it possible to be jealous of another version of yourself in an alternate reality that doesn't even exist?

With musings on fate, religion, parallel universes, and the best way to eat a cinnamon roll, Me Myself & Him examines how what we consider to be true is really just one part of the much (much) bigger picture.

"Wildly ingenious,...altogether, the novel's a winner in this and any other universe."-Booklist, Starred Review

"Tebbetts creates entertaining dual narratives...[and] enjoyable Easter eggs."-Publishers Weekly

"An engaging story that examines love, relationships, and the different paths one's life can take...[perfect] for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli's What if It's Us, Bill Konigsberg's The Music of What Happens, and Robyn Schneider's The ­Beginning of Everything."--SLJ

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781524715229
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 07/09/2019
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 290,068
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.30(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Chris Tebbetts is the New York Times bestselling coauthor of James Patterson's Middle School series. Originally from Yellow Springs, Ohio, Tebbetts is a graduate of Northwestern University. He lives and writes in Vermont. Find him online at christebbetts.com and on Twitter at @christebbetts.

Read an Excerpt

12:30?

The last thing I remember is sucking down a lungful of gas and closing my eyes. My friend Wexler tells me that I set down the cartridge, stood up again, paused like I wasn’t going anywhere, and then fell over, almost slow motion, like a tree going down, until I landed face-­first on the cement.

All of that’s blank in my memory.

When I woke up, if that’s what you can call it, the first thing I saw were these yellow and blue streaks, moving away from me like paint running down a windshield. On the other side of that, I saw one of Wexler’s black Keens, the ones he wore at the restaurant, but just one of them, right there in front of my face.

“Hang on, man. You’re going to be okay. I called the ambulance. It’s okay.”

It wasn’t, though. I could see the shoe, and I heard Wexler’s voice, but they weren’t, at that time, Wexler’s shoe and Wexler’s voice. They were just shoe and voice. I had no idea where I was, or how I’d gotten there, or why everything was sideways.

The first thing that kind of made sense was the sound of the siren. I knew it was an ambulance. That was good. At least I knew something.

And then there were all these people. EMTs and police. More shoes.

A cop kneeled down next to me. It was starting to come together.

“What’s your name, son?”

I tried to answer, but everything came out g, l, a, and r. “Glaaarh . . . gharr . . .”

“Your name?”

The first words I actually managed were “I’m having . . . trouble . . . speaking.”

He just shrugged and took his lack of grasp for the obvious somewhere else. I heard Wexler giving them my information. Then they put a big thick collar around my neck and lifted me onto a stretcher.

The back of the ambulance was like this lit portal with night all around it, and I slid right in. My face didn’t hurt. I don’t know why, it just didn’t. I thought the collar was a bit much, but someone took my hand away when I tried to loosen it.

And then we were moving.

I’d always wanted to ride in an ambulance. It was on the list with helicopter, glider, and, yes, fire truck, so I couldn’t help at least noticing that it was happening. The whole thing was so much like a movie or TV show that reality kind of got drowned out. “Riding in an ambulance” was all front and center. “I am so screwed” wouldn’t show up for another forty-­five minutes or so.

At the emergency room, they wheeled me right in. A doctor came into the bay where they had stuck me and felt around on my face. When she got to my nose, she made this sympathetic kind of sucking sound.

“What happened to you?” she said.

“Well . . .” I didn’t know how to tell her anything but the truth. “I did a hit of nitrous oxide and passed out on the cement.” My voice was really small, like if I barely said it, it would barely be true. “Does my mom have to know about that?”

“You’re eighteen,” she said, with the same kind of tone she might use to say You’re a dumbass kid in every respect but the law. “That part’s up to you.”

I’m not sure how the standard exam is supposed to go in these situations, but I’m pretty sure I got the discount package after that. She gave me another quick once-­over, said something about X-­rays, and left.

I lay there alone for a while, and the shame started to creep in, but also a dose of aggravation with myself. Why couldn’t I have just said I fell down on the cement?

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Me Myself & Him 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Amanda_BetweentheShelves 9 days ago
Thanks to Net Galley and Delacorte Press for providing me an early copy of this book to review! It was a wild ride, honestly. Throughout the book, we get these two different realities for Chris without really knowing which is the real one until the end. The way that Tebbetts weaves these two realities is genius; he drops subtle hints that you don't really pick up on until Chris starts talking about alternate timelines.  In terms of characters, Chris definitely had a lot of growing up to do at the beginning of the book. He was very focused on his own little world and his own plans that he didn't really think about anyone else around him. The two different timelines help him to work through these insecurities, and help him to grow throughout the book. I almost liked his best friends better than him, though they don't get a whole lot of development. But their banter together was fun, and made it an overall lighthearted read. Tebbetts puts a fun spin on the coming-of-age story in this fun play on alternate realities. A perfect read to bring with you to the beach!
TheReadersJournal 11 days ago
Meet Chris, a recent high school graduate, whose summer takes a turn. Readers dive into a storyline centered around the consequences of Chris’s whippet use. Yes, whippets. In both timelines, Chris suffers from a trip to the ER, leaves with a broken nose/bruised face and no idea how he’s going to explain the accident to his mother and somewhat estranged father. In one universe, Chris’ whippet use and bruised face, lands him in Sunny California with his dad. There is nothing particularly bright about their relationship. Chris is essentially given an ultimatum by his father; come to California and work for me during the Summer or I’m not paying your college tuition. Chris does give some thought into figuring the college thing out on his own, however the thought is fleeting, and we follow Chris as he works with his father and their murky relationship is constantly tested. In the parallel universe, Chris claims that the broken nose is just some accident. He continues to live out his Summer as normal as possible, as he awaits his time to move away for college. What seemed to be the easy route in dealing with his whippet debacle, turns sticky as Chris learns there was a witness to his fall, and that his secret of the whippet accident being no accident at all could get revealed. There are upsides and downsides to both universes for Chris. I feel the novel fell short as readers are left with no pinnacle. There was such great opportunity for some sort of magical overlap, but this never occurred. As I was reading I think I was awaiting this unknown overlap however it never occurred. Though Chris developed some as a character, there was room for more growth. I also did not find Chris’ best friends as believable characters, despite much discussion in both universes about the relationship dynamic. The author took a stab at a unique and difficult concept but the readers are left with little resolve regarding Chris and his future. Me, Myself and Him gives a fresh take on perspective. Literally. We are given a male point of view in parallel universes which is a plus in the female protagonist dominated world of YA. I feel there was room for so much more in this story. Despite it’s uniqueness, I think this could have been executed somewhat better.