Meat and Candy

Meat and Candy

by Old DominionOld Dominion


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, August 9


The name Old Dominion suggests something weathered, old, and sturdy -- a description that cannot be applied to either this Nashville quintet or their shiny bright 2015 debut, Meat & Candy. Old Dominion is keenly aware of what constitutes contemporary country music in 2015, knowing that the pendulum is slowly swinging away from the swaggering confidence of bro country and toward a softer, sweeter pop that bears pronounced but understated hip-hop inflections. It's smooth, often romantic music, sometimes succumbing to a bit of country corn -- the band's breakthrough single "Break Up with Him" is a booty call disguised as a seduction -- but Old Dominion wear their cheese with pride and not an insubstantial amount of charm, thanks partially to lead singer Matthew Ramsey's everyday charm but also to the band's impeccable craft. Every member of the quintet spent time working behind the scenes in the Music City, co-writing songs by the likes of the Band Perry and Dierks Bentley, so they're familiar with what pushes a song on the radio, and they also had the good fortune to align themselves with producer Shane McAnally, a collaborator with Brandy Clark and producer of Kacey Musgraves and Sam Hunt. Meat & Candy aligns closely with Hunt's Montevallo, particularly in its casual rap rhythms -- evident not only in the beats that underpin the productions but also in Ramsey's delivery -- but Old Dominion lack the beefy assurance of Hunt. Instead, this is a sharper, savvier variation of Rascal Flatts: crossover pop as suited for an office as it is for a make-out session. That's an endorsement, not a dismissal: it's hard to sound this light and easy, but Old Dominion do it with aplomb and they're such talented craftsmen that Meat & Candy sounds better on the fifth play than it does on the first, and it sounds mighty fine that first time through.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2015
Label: Rca
UPC: 0888751349629
catalogNumber: 513496
Rank: 7409


  1. Snapback
  2. Half Empty
  3. Wrong Turns
  4. Said Nobody
  5. Crazy Beautiful Sexy
  6. Nowhere Fast
  7. Beer Can in a Truck Bed
  8. Break Up with Him
  9. Song for Another Time
  10. Til It's Over
  11. We Got It Right

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Old Dominion   Primary Artist
Matt Stanfield   Keyboards
Shane McAnally   Background Vocals
Brad Tursi   Guitar,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping,Hi String
Ryan Gore   Percussion
Devin Malone   Electric Guitar
Trevor Rosen   Acoustic Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping,Hi String
Ilya Toshinskiy   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Hi String,Guitar (Resonator)
Dave Cohen   Synthesizer,Piano,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Geoff Sprung   Bass,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Matthew Ramsey   Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Whit Sellers   Percussion,Drums
Michael Durham   Electric Guitar
Tommy Garris   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Jimmy Robins   Composer
Matt Stanfield   Programming
Shane McAnally   Composer,Producer
Ross Copperman   Composer
Matt Jenkins   Composer
Brad Tursi   Composer,Programming
Ryan Gore   Programming,Engineer
Josh Osborne   Composer
Trevor Rosen   Composer
Geoff Sprung   Composer
Old Dominion   Liner Notes
Matthew Ramsey   Composer
Whit Sellers   Composer,Programming
Benjamin Phillips   Programming

Customer Reviews