×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Medusa Tree
     

The Medusa Tree

4.0 2
by Mylene Dressler
 

See All Formats & Editions

When she reaches the orderly house of her Dutch-Indonesian grandmothers, Marget learns quickly that if she only pays attention to them, then she can go unnoticed herself.

And that is exactly what she needs just now.

Marget is pregnant and alone. With her dancing career over and her mother absent, as always, Marget must decide for herself whether it

Overview

When she reaches the orderly house of her Dutch-Indonesian grandmothers, Marget learns quickly that if she only pays attention to them, then she can go unnoticed herself.

And that is exactly what she needs just now.

Marget is pregnant and alone. With her dancing career over and her mother absent, as always, Marget must decide for herself whether it is wise to continue the raveling line of her extended family.

Mylène Dressler’s powerful debut novel, The Medusa Tree, is the story of a family of displaced women, not all related by blood, who manage despite distance and conflict to provide one another sanctuary.

In the tradition of Amy Tan and Gloria Naylor, Dressler brings us a bold and heartfelt debut, rich in culture and character.

“The Medusa Tree is one of the best books I’ve read this year. Dressler’s characters are unforgettable and her style fuses grace with power. I look forward to reading more of her.” –Cynthia Shearer, author of The Wonder Book of the Air

Product Details

BN ID:
2940016587868
Publisher:
Untreed Reads
Publication date:
05/22/2013
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
859 KB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Medusa Tree 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Tamara87 More than 1 year ago
I had the pleasure to meet Ms. Dressler at my college, Columbus State University. She spoke to my class and answered our questions. She is very invigorating and spunky. She was kind, intelligent, and open to our interpretations of her work. I had to read The Deadwood Beetle for a class and I picked this novel up after meeting her and discussing the book with her. I love Mylene Dressler's books and this being first, it is not as great as The Deadwood Beetle. It only took a couple of days to read. I got a little bored with it at times but when I finished it, I was glad I had read it. Its a great, quick story with great description of family dynamics, our interactions with people, and relationships.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dressler's Medusa Tree is a charming tale of the love and bonds of family that become even stronger in the face of adversity. Having had the honor of having Dressler as a teacher in college, her novel has inspired me to try and write of my own heritage and family.