Meet Me in Margaritaville: The Ultimate Collection

Meet Me in Margaritaville: The Ultimate Collection

by Jimmy Buffett Jimmy Buffett


$16.79 $23.99 Save 30% Current price is $16.79, Original price is $23.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 6


Summertime has long since been presided over by the Mayor of Margaritaville, and his reign continues with the release of this two-disc sonic travelogue. Ostensibly a greatest-hits set, Meet Me in Margaritaville dips deep into all facets of Jimmy Buffett's sunny style, from the laid-back haziness of "Come Monday" and "Changes in Latitudes" to the hopped-up Coral Reefer grooves that imbue "Why Do We Get Drunk" and "Cheeseburger in Paradise." But in addition to the time-tested favorites, Buffett peppers the collection with new recordings -- most notably covers of "Everybody's Talkin'," delivered with the same sort of mooning wistfulness that marked Harry Nilsson's original, and the Beach Boys' "Sail on Sailor," a windswept version that belies Buffett's own seafaring pursuits. In addition, Buffett goes back to tweak some of his classics, putting a syncopated new spin on "Son of a Son of a Sailor" and stretching out with rum-soaked glee on live versions of "A Pirate Looks at Forty" and "Desperation Samba." The package also includes a booklet with wry liner notes provided by the Head Coral Reefer himself.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/15/2003
Label: Utv Records
UPC: 0044006778129
catalogNumber: 067781
Rank: 4603


Disc 1

  1. Margaritaville
  2. Migration
  3. Growing Older But Not Up
  4. Holiday
  5. Come Monday
  6. Fruitcakes
  7. We Are the People Our Parents Warned Us About
  8. Cheeseburger in Paradise
  9. Jolly Mon Sing
  10. The Pascagoula Run
  11. Tin Cup Chalice
  12. Pencil Thin Moustache
  13. Grapefruit/Juicy Fruit
  14. Coconut Telegraph
  15. Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes
  16. Last Mango in Paris
  17. Fins
  18. Why Don't We Get Drunk
  19. Brown Eyed Girl
  20. One Particular Harbour

Disc 2

  1. School Boy Heart
  2. Everybody's Talkin'
  3. Volcano
  4. Son of a Son of a Sailor
  5. Take Another Road
  6. Knees of My Heart
  7. In the Shelter
  8. Havana Daydreamin'
  9. Desperation Samba (Halloween in Tijuana)
  10. Barefoot Children
  11. Saxophones
  12. Cowboy in the Jungle
  13. He Went to Paris
  14. Creola
  15. Bob Robert's Society Band
  16. A Pirate Looks at Forty
  17. Sail on Sailor
  18. The Captain and the Kid

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jimmy Buffett   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion
Robert Greenidge   Timbales,Steel Drums
Doyle Grisham   Pedal Steel Guitar
Tina Gullickson   Vocals
Roger Guth   Drums
J.L. Jamison   Percussion,Drums,Steel Drums
Amy Lee   Saxophone
Mac McAnally   Guitar,Vocals
Jim Mayer   Guitar,Vocals
Nadirah Shakoor   Vocals
Michael Utley   Keyboards
John Lovell   Trumpet
Bob Weber   Guitar
Tom Mitchell   Saxophone
Julie Harkness   Dancer
Heather Perry   Dancer
Peter Mayer   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Ray Kennedy   Composer
Fred Neil   Composer
Jimmy Buffett   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Van Dyke Parks   Composer
Brian Wilson   Composer
Marshall Chapman   Composer
Ralph MacDonald   Composer
Keith Sykes   Composer
Matt Betton   Composer
Jimmy Bowen   Producer
Barry Chance   Composer
Don Gant   Producer
Marvin Gardens   Composer
Roger Guth   Composer
J.L. Jamison   Studio Manager
Will Jennings   Composer
Russ Kunkel   Composer,Producer
Amy Lee   Composer,Horn Arrangements
Deborah McColl   Composer
Van Morrison   Composer
Jay Oliver   Composer
Norbert Putnam   Producer
William Salter   Composer
Elliot Scheiner   Producer
Chris Stone   Engineer
Tandyn Almer   Composer
Michael Utley   Composer,Producer
John Lovell   Horn Arrangements
Kosh   Art Direction
Tom Mitchell   Horn Arrangements
Rodney Gnoinsky   Computer Editing
Bobby Holcomb   Composer
Sunshine Smith   Creative Consultant
Tom Corcoran   Composer,Liner Notes
Alan Schulman   Engineer
Bill Eaton   Composer
Coral Reefer Band   Arranger
Jack Rieley   Composer
Peter Mayer   Composer

Customer Reviews