Pub. Date:


by The Davis SistersThe Davis Sisters

CD(Box Set)

$29.92 $29.99 Save 0% Current price is $29.92, Original price is $29.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


Bear Family does its usual astonishingly thorough job on this double-CD compilation, which has no less than 59 tracks recorded by both incarnations of the Davis Sisters between 1952 and 1956 (as well as a brief 1957 Skeeter Davis solo take on "It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels)." The RCA singles are embellished by numerous outtakes, alternates, pre-RCA acetates of radio broadcasts, an unreleased tape of spirituals at a Kentucky Baptist Church, and their rare pre-RCA singles for the Fortune label; in fact, half of this collection was previously unreleased. The fidelity isn't always stellar on the non-RCA tracks, but most of the material is strong, and the harmonies always affecting, whether on the sad ballads, spirituals, or the occasional proto-rockabilly outings ("Rock-A-Bye Boogie," "Rag Mop," "Gotta Git A-Goin'"). While Skeeter understandably bemoaned the loss of original partner Betty Jack Davis, the sides with her replacement Georgie Davis (which actually comprise over half the package) are on about the same level as the earlier ones. Chet Atkins' guitar can be heard on most of the tracks.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/28/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127157225
catalogNumber: 15722
Rank: 124810


Disc 1

  1. Forgot More Then You'll Ever Know
  2. Sorrow and Pain
  3. Rock-A-Bye Boogie
  4. You're Gone
  5. Sorrow and Pain
  6. You're Gone
  7. Heartbreak Ahead
  8. Jealous Love
  9. Sorrow and Pain
  10. Kaw-Liga
  11. Heartbreak Ahead
  12. Rag Mop
  13. Your Cheatin' Heart
  14. Crying Steel Guitar Waltz
  15. Just When I Needed You
  16. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels
  17. Tomorrow's Just Another Day to Cry
  18. Tomorrow I'll Cry over You
  19. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
  20. Takin' Time Out for Tears
  21. Rock-A-Bye Boogie
  22. Takin' Time Out for Tears
  23. Gotta Git A-Goin
  24. You Weren't Ashamed to Kiss Me Last Night
  25. Foggy Mountain Top
  26. Just Like Me
  27. Don't Take Him for Granted
  28. I've Closed the Door
  29. Rock-A-Bye Boogie/I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know/Gotta Git A-Goin

Disc 2

  1. Takin' Time Out for Tears
  2. Gotta Git A-Goin
  3. I've Closed the Door
  4. She Loves Him and He Loves Me
  5. I've Closed the Door
  6. She Loves Him and He Loves Me
  7. Single Girl
  8. Show Me
  9. The Christmas Boogie
  10. Fiddle Diddle Boogie
  11. Everlovin'
  12. Come Back to Me
  13. Tomorrow's Just Another Day to Cry
  14. Tomorrow I'll Cry over You
  15. Come Back to Me
  16. Tomorrow's Just Another Day to Cry
  17. When I Stop Loving You
  18. I'll Get Him Back
  19. It's the Girl Who Gets the Blame
  20. Toodle-Ooh (To You)
  21. Baby Be Mine
  22. Blues for Company
  23. It's the Girl Who Gets the Blame
  24. Lonely and Blue
  25. Let's Go Steady
  26. Lying Brown Eyes
  27. Everywhere He Went
  28. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
  29. Dig a Little Deeper in God's Love
  30. Dig a Little Deeper in God's Love
  31. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Davis Sisters   Primary Artist
George Barnes   Electric Guitar
Roy Hall   Piano
Marty Gold   Piano
Don Helms   Steel Guitar
Billy Mure   Rhythm Guitar
Shorty Long   Fiddle
Sandy Block   Bass
Mac Ceppos   Fiddle
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Bob Foster   Steel Guitar
Johnny Frigo   Fiddle
Charles Randolph Grean   Bass
Henry Hayes   Guitar
Phil Kraus   Drums
Ernest Ernie Newton   Bass
Norris "Bunny" Shawker   Drums
Dale Potter   Fiddle
Bob Moore   Bass
Ezra Cline   Bass
Betty Jack Davis   Vocals
Bud Isaacs   Steel Guitar
Chernet   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Donald Slayman   Fiddle
Ray Cline   Fiddle
Eddie Thomas   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Skeeter Davis   Illustrations
Rev. Thomas A. Dorsey   Composer
Stephen H. Sholes   Producer
Phil Wells   Tape Comparison
Bruce Hailstalk   Tape Research
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Tape Research
Steve Hathaway   Illustrations
Gerd Weiler   Artwork
Sylke Lohmeyer   Artwork
Bob Allen   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews