Michael Ondaatje

Michael Ondaatje

by Lee Spinks


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16


Michael Ondaatje is the first comprehensive and fully up-to-date study of Ondaatje's entire oeuvre. Starting from Ondaatje's beginnings as a poet, this volume offers an intensive account of each of his major publications, including The Collected Works of Billy the Kid, Coming Through Slaughter, In The Skin of a Lion and The English Patient, drawing attention to the various contexts and intertexts that have informed his work.

The book contains a broad overview of Ondaatje's career for students and readers coming to his work for the first time. It also offers an original reading of his writing which significantly revises conventional accounts of Ondaatje as a postmodern or postcolonial writer.

As the fullest account of Ondaatje's work to date, Spinks's approach draws on a range of postcolonial theory and, as well as being a landmark in Ondaatje scholarship, makes a distinctive contribution to debates about postcolonial literature and the poetics of postmodernism.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780719066337
Publisher: Manchester University Press
Publication date: 10/15/2009
Series: Contemporary World Writers
Pages: 296
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Lee Spinks is Senior Lecturer in English at the University of Edinburgh

Table of Contents


Series editor's foreword

List of abbreviations


1. Contexts and intertexts

2. The early poems

3. The collected works of Billy the Kid

4. Coming through slaughter

5. Running in the family

6. In the skin of a lion

7. The English patient

8 Anil's ghost

9. Critical overview and conclusion

Select bibliography


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews