Midnight Blue/Live & Let Live

Midnight Blue/Live & Let Live

by Magna Carta Magna Carta


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, January 25


Recorded in 1980-1981, at a time when early-'70s folk heroes Magna Carta were forgotten even by their original (vociferous) fan club, Midnight Blue is a surprisingly pleasing album, one that overlooks all the odds that were stacked against it (just one original member, no deal to speak of, and a decade having elapsed since their last LP of note) to drift on the edges, instead, of the folk movement that was just beginning to push its way out of punk rock. Of course, it was another decade too early to truly take advantage of those currents, and the band was still firmly locked into the gears that ground around its original incarnations. But hindsight blesses the original album with a lot to be thankful for, while half a dozen bonus tracks continue the story through the next 20 years of outtakes. The second disc in this package is also dominated by those same two decades; although the subtitle insists listeners are in for a truly career-spanning live retrospective, all but two of the 12 songs ("Sponge" from 1971 and "Fields of Eden" from 2007) were recorded during the 1990s and early 2000s. That said, there is a timelessness to the set that illustrates why this band is still so adored, and the opening (2000) recounting of "Airport Song" is priceless.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2011
Label: Edge Mus640
UPC: 5055011703469
catalogNumber: 70346
Rank: 149644


Disc 1

  1. Slowbone Jones
  2. Natural Lovin' Man
  3. It's So Easy
  4. Have a Nice Day
  5. Sting of the Gin
  6. Wind on the Water
  7. Written in the Wind
  8. Midnight Blue
  9. Danny
  10. I'll Walk Mine
  11. Strangers in the Land of Ulysses
  12. Cajun Cannonball
  13. Little Bit of My Heart
  14. Highway To Spain
  15. When All Is Said and Done
  16. For the Gypsy
  17. Greenfields
  18. Stop Bringing Me Down
  19. Everytime

Disc 2

  1. Airport Song
  2. Sponge
  3. Abalone Sky/Banjo Man
  4. Wind on the Water
  5. Tomorrow is a Long Time
  6. 9 Lb. Hammer
  7. Sun Ain't Gonna Rise
  8. Time For the Leaving
  9. Call Me the Breeze
  10. Only Road Home
  11. Fields of Eden
  12. Slow Train To Nowhere

Album Credits

Customer Reviews