Midnight on the River Grey

Midnight on the River Grey

by Abigail Wilson

Paperback

$15.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

In this Gothic Regency romanceRebecca fears she has developed feelings for the man she swore to see hanged, her brother's murderer.

After her brother’s mysterious death, Rebecca Hunter vows to expose the man she believes responsible: Mr. Lewis Browning—known by the locals as the Midnight Devil and by Rebecca as her new guardian.

Summoned to his reclusive country estate to await her London season, Rebecca plans her own secret investigation among the darkened corridors of the mysterious Greybourne Hall. Yet Lewis Browning is not as she once imagined, and his motivation is horribly unclear. Recurrent nightmares and Rebecca’s restless feelings are further complicated by the shadow of her mother’s prior descent into madness and wondering if she, too, will follow the same heartbreaking path.

Even as midnight rides, strange injuries, and further murders lead back to Mr. Browning, Rebecca can’t ignore the subtle turn of her heart. Has she fallen for the man she swore would pay for her brother’s death? And moreover, can she trust him with her uncertain future?

Praise for Abigail Wilson:

In the Shadow of Croft Towers is everything I love in a novel: a classic gothic feel, a regency setting, a mysterious hero . . . and secrets abounding!” —Dawn Crandall, award-winning author of the Everstone Chronicles series

“Shades of Gothic romance in a portrait of Regency England . . . if Jane Austen ever met Jane Eyre, it would be at Croft Towers!” —Kristy Cambron, author of Castle on the Rise, of In the Shadow of Croft Towers

"Blending the unputdownable Regency flair of Georgette Heyer with the intricate plotting of Julie Klassen, Wilson not only places herself competently amidst beloved authors but carves out a unique place of her own." —Rachel McMillan, author of the Van Buren and DeLuca Mysteries

"Beautifully written, suspenseful, and satisfyingly romantic." —Jennifer Beckstrand, author of Home on Huckleberry Hill

“Murder is far from no one’s thoughts in this delicious new romantic mystery from Abigail Wilson. With scandal dodging every turn of the page, mystery hiding behind the visage of each character, and a romance brewing with an English rake of the worse—and best—sorts, readers will find nothing lacking! I was entranced, mesmerized, addlepated, and not a little bit bewildered as I wandered the halls of Middlecrest Abbey.” —Jaime Jo Wright, author of the Christy Award–winning novel, The House on Foster Hill

  • Full-length Regency romance with a murder mystery (c. 90,000 words)
  • Perfect for fans of Sarah Ladd, Deanna Raybourn, Julie Klassen, Tasha Alexander, and Lauren Willig
  • Also by Abigail Wilson:
    • In the Shadow of Croft Towers
    • Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey
    • The Vanishing at Loxby Manor (available January 2021)
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780785224129
Publisher: Nelson, Thomas, Inc.
Publication date: 07/02/2019
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 352,680
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Abigail Wilson combines her passion for Regency England with intrigue and adventure to pen historical mysteries with a heart. A registered nurse, chai tea addict, and mother of two crazy kids, Abigail fills her spare time hiking the national parks, attending her daughter’s gymnastic meets, and curling up with a great book. In 2017, Abigail won WisRWA’s Fab Five contest and in 2016, ACFW’s First Impressions contest as well as placing as a 2017 finalist in the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense. She is a cum laude graduate of the University of Texas at Austin and currently lives in Dripping Springs, Texas, with her husband and children. Connect with Abigail at www.acwilsonbooks.com; Instagram: acwilsonbooks; Facebook: ACWilsonbooks; Twitter: @acwilsonbooks.

Customer Reviews