Midnight Sun

Midnight Sun

by Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Midnight Sun

Although firmly identified with Benny Goodman and the swing era, vibraphonist Lionel Hampton led one of the most bop-oriented and forward-looking big bands of the mid-to-late '40s; for proof of that check out "Mingus Fingers" (by Charles Mingus) on this CD. This set reissues some of Hampton's most boppish sides from 1946-47 along with the original version of "Midnight Sun" and is full of extroverted solos and exciting ensembles. Although tenorman Arnett Cobb (heard in the earlier selections) and pianist Milt Buckner are the best-known sidemen, such musicians as the screaming trumpeters Jimmy Nottingham and Leo "the Whistler" Sheppard and tenors Morris Lane, John Sparrow and the young Johnny Griffin provide their own strong moments. Until Decca gets around to reissuing all of Hamp's big band sides in chronological order, this is one of the sets to get.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/20/1993
Label: Grp Records
UPC: 0011105062527
catalogNumber: 625

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lionel Hampton & His Orchestra   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Lionel Hampton   Primary Artist,Piano,Drums,Vocals,Vibes,Track Performer
Milt Buckner   Piano
Arnett Cobb   Tenor Saxophone
Kenny Dorham   Trumpet
Johnny Griffin   Tenor Saxophone
Charles Mingus   Bass
Joe Wilder   Trumpet
Booty Wood   Trombone
James Robinson   Trombone
Dan Burley   Piano
Britt Woodman   Trombone
Teddy Buckner   Trumpet
Joe Comfort   Bass
Sonny Craven   Trombone
Wendell Culley   Trumpet
Charlie Fowlkes   Baritone Saxophone
Duke Garrette   Trumpet
Eugene "Fats" Heard   Drums
George Jenkins   Drums
Jackie Kelso   Clarinet
Ben Kynard   Alto Saxophone
Morris Lane   Tenor Saxophone
Billy Mackel   Guitar
Joe Morris   Trumpet
Jimmy Nottingham   Trumpet
David Page   Trumpet
Andrew Penn   Trombone
Bobby Plater   Alto Saxophone
Leo Shepherd   Trumpet
Ted Sinclair   Bass
Johnny Sparrow   Tenor Saxophone
Earl "Bagga" Walker   Drums
Earl Fox Walker   Drums
Walter Williams   Trumpet
Jimmy Wormick   Trombone
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Jack Kelson   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
John Sparrow   Tenor Saxophone
Lammar Wright   Trumpet
Fats Heard   Drums
Hayes   Trombone
Charlie Harris   Bass

Technical Credits

Milt Buckner   Arranger
Lionel Hampton   Composer
Charles Mingus   Arranger
Sonny Burke   Arranger,Composer
Dave Grusin   Producer,Executive Producer
Milt Gabler   Producer
Duke Garrette   Arranger
Nancy Hamilton   Composer
Orrin Keepnews   Producer,Reissue Producer
Ben Kynard   Arranger
Sonny Mediana   Production Director
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Larry Rosen   Producer,Executive Producer
Leo Shepherd   Arranger
Dan Serrano   Art Direction
Burt Korall   Liner Notes
Jackie Salway   Graphic Design
Alba Acevedo   Graphic Design
Morgan Lewis   Composer
Joop Visser   Producer
Scott Johnson   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews