Mighty Real: Greatest Dance Hits

Mighty Real: Greatest Dance Hits

by SylvesterSylvester


View All Available Formats & Editions


In 2013, Sylvester's five studio albums for Fantasy -- 1977's Sylvester through 1981's Too Hot to Sleep -- were released as digital downloads. Around the same time, the label issued this compilation as a download and as a filled-to-capacity compact disc. It leads with a previously unreleased mix of "You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)" from Chicago house pioneer Ralphi Rosario, but after that, there's no deviation, with most of the expected selections present. "Dance (Disco Heat)," "You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)" (the original mix of which closes the set), "I Need Somebody to Love Tonight" (possibly the sleaziest electronic groove recorded), "I Need You," and most of the other selections are essential. Serious fans can spot the unfortunate omissions -- "Down, Down, Down," "I (Who Have Nothing)," and "In My Fantasy," for instance -- but there simply isn't enough room to fit everything into one easy-to-digest anthology. The lone unrepresented album is Too Hot to Sleep, quite possibly because it was a significant stylistic departure into relaxed contemporary R&B -- though its "Give It Up" wouldn't have been out of place here. This is a fine introduction that showcases the grit and the gloss, as well as the aches and the pleasures, of a versatile dance music original.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/25/2013
Label: Fantasy
UPC: 0888072344884
catalogNumber: 34488

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sylvester   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Mel Martin   Baritone Saxophone
Julian Priester   Trombone
Patrick Cowley   Synthesizer
Jeanie Tracy   Background Vocals
Martha Wash   Background Vocals
Alfredo de la Fe   Strings,Concert Master
Delores Hall   Background Vocals
Eluriel Tinker Barfield   Bass
Greg Crockett   Bass
Woody Cunningham   Drums
Kelvin Dixon   Drums
Norman Durham   Bass
David Frazier   Percussion
John Gatchell   Horn
Carl Hall   Background Vocals
Bob Kingson   Bass
Randy Merritt   Drums
Ella Mitchell   Background Vocals
Sandy Reiner   Drums
Izora Rhodes   Background Vocals
Eric Robinson   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Louis Small   Synthesizer,Piano,Electric Piano,Rhythm
Allen Smith   Trumpet
Jessica Smith   Background Vocals
Mauricio Smith   Horn,Alto Saxophone,Soloist
George Victory   Guitar
Wayne Wallace   Trombone
Ralph Wash   Guitar
Tip Wirrick   Guitar
Michael Finden   Organ,Electric Piano,Clavinet
David Sprunk   French Horn
Denita James   Background Vocals
Pat Hodges   Background Vocals
John Dunstan   Bass
John Echert   Horn
Kenny Warden   Flugelhorn,Horn,Soloist
Louis Barbarin   Horn
Dan Reich   Keyboards
Danny Chan   Horn
Fred Berry   Trumpet
Cookie Holt   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Sylvester   Composer,Producer
Leslie Drayton   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Patrick Cowley   Composer,Special Effects,Sequencers
Ralphi Rosario   Remixing
Nick Ashford   Composer
Harvey Fuqua   Producer
Eric Robinson   Arranger,Composer,rhythm arrangement
Valerie Simpson   Composer
Louis Small   Arranger,Horn Arrangements
Tip Wirrick   Composer
Michael Finden   Composer
Denita James   Composer
Phil Bray   Cover Photo
Abbey Anna   Art Direction
Andrew Pham   Art Direction
Victor Orsborn   Composer
Lionel Azlay   Composer
Joshua Gamson   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews