This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Migrations: A Novel

Migrations: A Novel

by Charlotte McConaghy

Hardcover

$26.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on August 4, 2020

Overview

"Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer." —Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven

For readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final chance for redemption.

Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean’s tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world’s last flock of Arctic terns and follow them on their final migration. She convinces Ennis Malone, captain of the Saghani, to take her onboard, winning over his eccentric crew with promises that the birds she is tracking will lead them to fish.

As the Saghani fights its way south, Franny’s new shipmates begin to realize that she is full of dark secrets: night terrors, an unsent pile of letters, and an obsession with pursuing the terns at any cost. When the story of her past begins to unspool, Ennis and his crew must ask themselves what Franny is really running toward—and running from.

Propelled by a narrator as fierce and fragile as the terns she is following, Migrations is both an ode to our threatened world and a breathtaking page-turner about the lengths we will go for the people we love.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250204028
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication date: 08/04/2020
Pages: 272
Product dimensions: 6.12(w) x 9.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

Charlotte McConaghy is an author and screenwriter based in Sydney, Australia. Migrations is her U.S. debut.