Mike + The Mechanics

Mike + The Mechanics

by Mike + the Mechanics


$12.58 $13.99 Save 10% Current price is $12.58, Original price is $13.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, September 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Mike + The Mechanics

With all of it's members exercising their expertise, the debut album from Mike + the Mechanics posted two Top Ten singles in the span of three months. The songwriting comes out on top before anything else, with the somber stir of "Silent Running," the album's first release, peaking at number six. "All I Need Is a Miracle" followed at number five, with it's Genesis-like tempo and polished chorus, and even "Taken In" cracked the Top 40, a simple ballad that's bettered by Paul Young's genuine emotional charm. Carrack sounds just as sharp as he did with Ace or Squeeze throughout the album's nine tracks, while Rutherford's overseeing of the entire project is apparent. While Mike Rutherford's guitar work isn't overwhelming, both his six-string and bass guitar contributions complete a sound foundation for the vocals. The mood setting drum work of Peter Van Hooke and the keyboard fills from Adrian Lee play a large part in setting the album's tone, and add some pop zest to the majority of the tracks. Even though their next album gave Mike + the Mechanics a number one hit with the darkened "Living Years," their debut reflects a more compliant sound in every aspect.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678128721
catalogNumber: 81287
Rank: 147088

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mike + the Mechanics   Primary Artist
Paul Carrack   Vocals
John Kirby   Vocals
Derek Austin   Keyboards
Ray Beavis   Saxophone
Alan Carvell   Background Vocals
John Earle   Saxophone
Luis Jardim   Percussion
Adrian Lee   Keyboards
Alan Murphy   Guitar
Christopher Neil   Background Vocals
Mike Rutherford   Bass,Guitar
Linda Taylor   Background Vocals
Peter Van Hooke   Drums
Ian Wherry   Keyboards
Paul Young   Vocals

Technical Credits

Phil Collins   Composer
BA Robertson   Composer
Tony Banks   Composer
Simon Hurrell   Engineer
Christopher Neil   Composer,Producer
Mike Rutherford   Composer
Lewis Moberly   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews