Minus One: The Drew Smith Series

Minus One: The Drew Smith Series

by Norwood Holland

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Minus One: The Drew Smith Series by Norwood Holland

Minus One is the prequel to the Drew Smith series. Before the ink is dry on Drew Smith's license to practice law he finds himself at the center of a murder mystery.

Norwood Holland takes us back to the beginning when Drew Smith launches his legal career. The recent law school graduate works as a hotel concierge and befriends two bellmen Medhat and Julio. This eclectic trio form a solid fraternal friendship put to the test when Medhat is kidnapped after running up a drug tab he can't pay. Rescued by his crew he then becomes the prime suspect in a string of murders.
Driven by their romantic entanglements the attorney is captivated with a pretty Latina whose father objects to her dating a Black man. Julio and his Filipina love find themselves expecting, and Medhat’s passion for blondes gets him snared in a femme fatalle's net.

Minus One captures Drew Smith's evolution from youthful indiscretion to a professional burdened with seriousness of purpose.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940044582385
Publisher: Norwood Holland
Publication date: 06/08/2013
Series: Drew Smith , #2
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 676 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Norwood Holland is a freelance writer, lawyer. He received his law degree from Howard University School of Law and earned a Bachelor’s Degree in English at Fisk University where he studied under the renowned Harlem Renaissance author Arna Bontemps. A Washingtonian he favors D.C.'s local color in his fiction and currently writes the blog editorialindependence.com devoted to diversity issues and labor law. To contact the author visit his website norwoodholland.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Minus One: The Drew Smith Series 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
OOSABookClub More than 1 year ago
With Norwood Holland’s “Minus One,” readers are taken back in time with Drew Smith of “Sleepless Nights: The Drew Smith Series.” Instead of the Drew Smith, established and successful attorney, readers have come to know, they meet young Drew Smith, hotel concierge and recent law school grad. When close friend and coworker Medhat is arrested for murder, Drew must take all he learned and then some to defend his friend. Though the premise was an interesting one, I found “Minus One” to be rather slow initially. It did not pick up its pace until after over 100 pages in. While the relationship between the three main characters, Drew, Julio and Medhat, needed to be established and the premise set up, too much time was given to these aspects as well as other information/scenes pertaining to other characters with supporting roles. There were a few quirks with editing and the narration. The story was told from the first-person point of view of Drew, yet it occasionally switched to third-person to account for happenings that Drew was not present for or he was not directly involved in, which proved confusing. After “Minus One” got into the meat of the story, it was entertaining and held my interest. I like what Norwood Holland is doing and I look forward to more from him. Reviewed by: Toni 3.5 stars