Mirror Ball: Live & More

Mirror Ball: Live & More

by Def LeppardDef Leppard


$14.33 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.33, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, May 24


Of all the '80s bands that once ruled the hair metal roost, few soldiered through the following decades with as much tenacity as Def Leppard, who scored hits during the grunge era ("Let's Get Rocked," "Two Steps Behind") and the late-'90s teen pop revival ("Promises") before quietly fading from the charts. The group then whipped itself into a touring juggernaut, spending nearly every summer on the road with AOR titans like Journey and REO Speedwagon. On Mirror Ball -- the band's first live release, unless you count the out of print Live: In the Clubs, In Your Face EP from 1993 -- the guys are all pushing 50, yet the band doesn't sound all that removed from its Reagan-era heyday. The biggest telltale sign that these songs were recorded during 2008's Sparkle Lounge tour (as opposed to, say, the Hysteria heyday of 1987) is Joe Elliott's voice, which has morphed from a metallic screech into a coarse croon. He now flips into this falsetto on the high notes, and his bandmates continue to chime in with their usual harmonies, which sound far more human when divorced of Mutt Lange's studio production. The set list focuses on the band's greatest hits -- "Pour Some Sugar on Me," "Foolin'," "Photograph," "Love Bites," "Let's Get Rocked" -- and only reaches into the archives for "Switch 625" and "Bringin' on the Heartbreak," the latter of which is given the same treatment it received during the band's 1980s performances: an acoustic beginning, followed by lots of audience baiting and -- finally -- an epic, electric finish. Three new studio recordings are tacked onto the end of disc two, with the Queen-like "Kings of the World" standing out as the best of the bunch. They're all fine songs, really, but the meat of this album is the live material, which is far better than most fans will expect it to be.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/05/2011
Label: Mailboat Records
UPC: 0698268951105
catalogNumber: 9511
Rank: 14818


Disc 1

  1. Rock! Rock! (Till You Drop)
  2. Rocket
  3. Animal
  4. C'Mon C'Mon
  5. Make Love Like a Man
  6. Too Late For Love
  7. Foolin'
  8. Nine Lives
  9. Love Bites
  10. Rock On

Disc 2

  1. Two Steps Behind
  2. Bringin' on the Heartbreak
  3. Switch 625
  4. Hysteria
  5. Armageddon It
  6. Photograph
  7. Pour Some Sugar On Me
  8. Rock of Ages
  9. Let's Get Rocked
  10. Action
  11. Bad Actress
  12. Undefeated
  13. Kings of the World
  14. It's All About Believin'

Disc 3

  1. Rock! Rock! (Till You Drop)
  2. Armageddon It
  3. Pour Some Sugar On Me
  4. Hysteria
  5. Nine Lives
  6. C'Mon C'Mon

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Def Leppard   Primary Artist
Vivian Campbell   Guitar,Background Vocals
Phil Collen   Guitar,Background Vocals
Joe Elliott   Vocals
Rick Savage   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals,Effects Pedals
Rick Allen   Drums,Background Vocals
Dick Decent   Piano,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Def Leppard   Producer,Art Direction
David Essex   Composer
Steve Clark   Composer
Phil Collen   Composer
Joe Elliott   Composer
Robert John "Mutt" Lange   Composer
Rick Savage   Composer
Pete Willis   Composer
Ronan McHugh   Producer,Engineer
Rick Allen   Composer
Richard Proctor   Art Direction
Preston Pope   Engineer
Cj Vanston   Engineer

Customer Reviews