Miss Buncle's Book

Miss Buncle's Book

by D.E. Stevenson
4.1 215

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.49 $9.99 Save 5% Current price is $9.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Miss Buncle's Book by D.E. Stevenson

"Watch as Barbara Buncle blossoms and finds within herself the strength that's always been there, just waiting for its chance. RECOMMENDED READ "—Dear Author

From beloved author D.E. Stevenson-who's sold more than seven million books worldwide-comes this highly original and charming tale about a woman who causes an uproar in her quaint English village after writing a revealing novel featuring the town's inhabitants as characters.

Barbara Bunde is in a bind. Times are harsh, and Barbara's bank account has seen better days. Maybe she could sell a novel ... if she knew any stories. Stumped for ideas, Barbara draws inspiration from her fellow residents of Silverstream, the little English village she knows inside and out.

To her surprise, the novel is a smash. It's a good thing she wrote under a pseudonym, because the folks of Silverstream are in an uproar. But what really turns Miss Bunde's world around is this: what happens to the characters in her book starts happening to their real-life counterparts. Does life really imitate art?

A beloved author who has sold more than seven million books, D. E. Stevenson is at her best with Miss Buncle's Book, crafting a highly original and charming tale about what happens when people see themselves through someone else's eyes.

"Love it, love it, love it"

"There are no vampires, no faeries, no weird creatures, just a sweet story about real people living in a world I've always dreamed of."-Reader Review

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781402270833
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 09/01/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 29,177
File size: 910 KB

About the Author

D.E. Stevenson (1892-1973) had an enormously successful writing career; between 1923 and 1970, four million copies of her books were sold in Britain and three million in the United States.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Miss Buncle's Book 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 215 reviews.
An_Arkansas_Reader More than 1 year ago
Written in the 1930’s when neighborhood gossip was the social media, Miss Buncle’s Book tells the story of the village of Silverstream after spinster Barbara Buncle writes a novel about the town and its residents. Though, she uses a pen name and different names for the village and its residents, her neighbors are able to see themselves in her work, and for the most part they don’t like what they see. This is a witty, old-fashioned story about human nature. Reviews of this book described it as “cozy” so I was hoping for something in the vein of Alexander McCall Smith or Miss Read. It wasn’t cozy in that way – it didn’t make me want to stop and smell flowers or enjoy a sunset the way their works do, but Miss Buncle’s Book was a good story told simply. I enjoyed reading about the clothing and manners of the time, though am glad I don’t live in a village like Silverstream where my every action is a source of gossip and judgment. I am glad I met Miss Buncle and do plan to read this story’s sequel. Recommended for fans of Jane Austen and Persophone Classics.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed reading this book; in fact, I've stayed up reading way into the "wee hours" because I couldn't sleep until I found out how it turned out. Now to read the other book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved D E Stevenson’s books for decades. I love Miss Buncle’s book, it is a gentle read that grabs
Medic_Chick05 More than 1 year ago
the cover caught my attention so when i read the back, i decided i had to buy this book! a later found out it was written in the 1930s and i am so happy it has recently been reissued for its a simply charming book!! i have lost sleep because i couldnt put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This wonderful book was a pleasure to read and I have a new author to add to my library. Beautifully written, charming, and funny, Miss Buncle and her village are perfect company.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
charming story, quick read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do not usually like books which were published a long time ago. This free Friday offering was published in 1934. It is 242 pages long. It starts off a little slow and is very tame by today's standards. Reading this book was like entering a whole other world. It was a time more innocent then the one we now experience. Yet it was also a time when money was scarce and everyone is caught up in themselves, just like today. I did not think I would enjoy this book at all, but I liked it very much. It was perfectly edited. The characters were a real hoot. It was funny and charming. In some places it was laugh out loud funny. There was no violence, cursing, or adult themes. There was a mention of Religion. It is set in England and the author has the servants speaking in English brogue. This is chick lit. I would recommend it for readers 16 and up, but I really think only the older generations will enjoy this book. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have enjoyed Ms Stevens books for years, but have never heard of the Miss Buncle series. I love the first one and looking forward to the next one soon. If you like gentle English genre stories, this one is for your library.
JerriC More than 1 year ago
Written in the 1930's, this delightful book is full of fun and laughter. It can transport the reader to a different time and place, and if you have never before read the works of D. E. Stevenson, introduce you to an author to love. I have read Stevenson's works for many years, and Miss Buncle's Book is one of her best and funniest. Miss Buncle, living in the small village of Silverstream, is short of money. Gentlewomen in that time and place didn't work outside the home, so to raise money she writes a book. And, she uses her neighbors and village as inspiration. When the book is published and becomes a best seller, the villagers recognize themselves and are determined to find and punish the author. Much laughter ensues as complications abound, and all is resolved in the final chapter. Once you have read this book, you will want to move on to the next two in the series, Miss Buncle Married and The Two Mrs. Abbotts. I am so delighted that this series is now available in eBook format and the delightful paperbacks from Sourcebooks. May they publish many more books by D. E. Stevenson.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The way that the charachters imitate themselves makes you want to scream for the irony. Love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't know anything about Stevenson and as I read couldn't place it in history. Just as Miss Buncle writes stories about the people in her village, Stevenson may have been used real people as his stereotypes for this novel. The dialogues is witty and the stories invite you in. Two things kept it from being a 5. One, Miss Buncle's character was not as drawn out as I would have liked. I wanted to know more about her. Second, sometimes the author repeated dialogue. Perhaps that is how people spoke in Great Britain during that era and I don't have enough background knowledge. However, I truly enjoyed the story and looked forward to each reading session to see what would happen next. I'll read more by this author.
pedigreedmutt More than 1 year ago
i did enjoy this book. bought the next one and enjoyed it too. Like a period piece but human nature remains the same. glad i read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. It is charming, sweet and gentle and a joy to read!
BuggleB More than 1 year ago
If you like watching Downton Abbey, you will enjoy this book! I admit, it was a little hard to get into the book in the first few chapter. The author took some time establishing the characters who later intertwine and all play out well in the end. However, once I got everyone's name/role straight, the book was quite charming, enjoyable and smartly written. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book about an author who writes her first book under a pseudonym --BUT---the whole town is incensed to find the characters drawn from her own friends & neighbors but they aren't "quite"?? CERTAIN
Anonymous 9 months ago
I loved this little gem of a book. It is beautifully written and laugh-out-loud funny. Although it is set in a small English village during the early 1930s, it has a timeless feel to it. I'll definitely read more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Going to the libraryy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. It is actually making me look at the people in my daily life with new interest hoping to glimpse the story underneath the exterior
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago