Mission Flats

Mission Flats

by William Landay
4.0 63

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Mission Flats by William Landay

Before the New York Times bestselling success of Defending Jacob, William Landay wrote this critically acclaimed first novel of crime and suspense—perfect for fans of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Dennis Lehane.
 
“Landay writes with eloquent intensity.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
By a shimmering lake in western Maine, a body lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston whose beat was the city’s toughest neighborhood: Mission Flats. For local police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet home and joining a vengeful manhunt in a world of hard streets and harder bargains. The cops have zeroed in on a suspect, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. But Ben distrusts the Boston police—especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years. As past and present collide, as tribal loyalties threaten to lynch an innocent man—or let a guilty one go free—one thing remains certain: The most powerful revelations are yet to come.
 
Includes an excerpt of Defending Jacob
 
“A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the next Grisham?”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
“An inventive, gripping suspense debut . . . Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player. . . . A rich, harrowing and delightful read.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“[Landay’s] tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment.”—Rocky Mountain News
 
“Waiting for a new Landay novel is like waiting for a guy from Cremona to build a violin: anxious but worth it.”—Lee Child
 
Winner of the CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780440334552
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/26/2003
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 48,343
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

William Landay holds degrees from Yale and Boston College Law School. A former prosecutor in Massachusetts, he lives in Boston with his wife and infant son, where he is currently at work on his next novel of suspense.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mission Flats 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Beautifully constructed thriller, with twists that make sense as opposed to being inserted for the sake of twists, and where expectations are well-confounded. There are few if any consciously virtuoso elements, no weirdness introduced to spice the story up, no over-the-top characters - the author lets the story stand on its own merits, allows the characters legitimate ambiguity, and the effect is immensely satisfying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is like a blindfolded roller coaster ride – starts off slow and steady then sends you through twists and turns, with no idea just how the ride will end. I picked this book up because I enjoyed the author’s latest book – “Defending Jacob”. Initially, I wasn’t as impressed but then I was hooked and in for the ride. Very enjoyable read – couldn’t put it down during the last 100+ pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my second book by Landay and I can't wait until payday so I can get the other one! When I have to put the book down I am so anxious to pick it up again!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Versailles, Maine, retired Police Chief Claude and his son Ben, the current chief, struggle as roommates since the death two months ago of the family anchor, his wife and Ben¿s mom. To escape the lack of communication between them, Ben inspects the deserted summer cabins near the lake. However, his leisurely stroll down memory lane thinking of his mom ends when he finds the corpse of Sussex County Assistant District Attorney Robert Danzinger in the fourth cabin checked.

Soon a horde from Massachusetts descends on the little hamlet. The Bostonian law enforcement Brahmans concentrate on ruthless drug king Harold Braxton in the MISSION FLATS section of the big city while leaving out the country bumpkin who started the investigation. None of these big city geniuses seem interested in answering why the ADA was in Versailles during the off-season? Not comfortable with what he sees, Ben obstinately continues his inquiries receiving assistance from retired cop John Kelly, his attorney daughter Caroline and mentor cop Martin Gittens. However even their ties to the deceased is suspect as a history of revenge begins to surface.

MISSION FLATS is a powerful and well written police procedural that proves former DAs can actually write a complete exciting novel that leaves the audience wanting more. The story line is filled with twists and turns and a final spin that will shock readers as few tales ever truly do. Fans will appreciate the deep look at the double helix twists of big city justice and police compromise and concession that places William Landay in his debut at the top of former ADA turn author list.

Harriet Klausner

KikiMA More than 1 year ago
I have recently become a William Landay fan, but started with a more recent book - "Defending Jacob" (another must-read). His stories are real and not mushy and predictable. I'm looking forward to his next book. In the meantime, "Mission Flats" did not disappoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Landay's first book (author of bestseller Defending Jacob). I enjoyed this crime fiction story. Interesting characters, good story twists. A DA is killed while looking into killings in 1977 & 1987 of both cops and criminals. A small town Maine police chief becomes involved in the case when the murdered DA's body is found in his town. Landay deftly twists several stories together. He's very good at keeping you guessing who done it (as he did in Defending Jacob).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked up this story because I truly enjoyed Defending Jacob. I loved the authors style of writing so much I finished it and immediately started Mission Flats. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The characters are portrayed with the right amount of detail and drew me in. Again, the style of writing was great and I thought all along I had this 'figured' out..but I didn't know it all! Loved it! The type of book I don't want to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well, I have to say that I enjoyed "Mission Flats" so much more than "Defending Jacob". The one "flaw" that I see in William Landay's writing is that he tries very hard to give the reader a "surprise", "thrilling" ending and to me, they fall flat. It's like you shake your head and say "really?"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read Defending Jacob first. Love this author. Keep them coming Mr. Landay!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well developed story and characters. Kept me riveted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read. Keeps you guessing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MOST EXCELLENT !  this is a wonderful procedural crime mystery...   very clever, non-conventional, with realistic characters; evocative of New England, both rural and urban, in many ways;  worthy of the best Michael Connelly or John Sandford;  BRAVO...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written. Keeps your attention. Also impressed by Landay's Defending Jacob. Be sure to read that mystery also. Want to read more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And so gave "Mission Flats" the opportunity to entertain me. And that it did and much more. If you haven't read anything by William Landry, I recommend you give him a try. This is an author who takes delight in presenting a story to keep you guessing the outcome until the very end. J M Lydon
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great thriller. Never would have predicted any of the plot twists. Another hit by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved Defending Jacob, but quit MIssion Flats at page 129. Gave it a good try, but found it to be incredibly slow and life is too short with too many other books to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cateqq qdaawawCwcczwtctszvwwtewzvagawg TewtqrfadAweqeqwdqeaasea szagv
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This S was an alright read. I like the writing . The plot got a little thin at time. I did enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Energetic, masterful, this book has it all for good crime drama.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jake9 More than 1 year ago
pages freeze, have to forward & then back-up to get past the frozen parts...........enjoyed the beginning and the ending......the middle seemed contrived, boring & meandering.........too bad the most interesting character will not be returning