Mists of Darkness: Book Two of the Mist Trilogy

Mists of Darkness: Book Two of the Mist Trilogy

by M.J. Evans
5.0 8

Paperback

$10.95
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781938690532
Publisher: Two Harbors Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 11/15/2013
Pages: 244
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

M.J. Evans is a graduate of Oregon State University and a lifelong equestrian. She is a former teacher at the secondary school level. She and her husband are the parents of five children and live in Colorado with their three horses and a Standard Poodle.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mists of Darkness-Book Two of the Mist Trilogy 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am 12 years old and I got this book for Christmas. The story from the first book, Behind the Mist, continues as Jazz and Nick become members of the Legion of the Unicorn. The celebration doest last long because Hasbadana continues to cause trouble. This book is perfect for anyone who loves horses or unicorns, and likes fantasy fiction. 
MomsChoiceAwards More than 1 year ago
A recipient of the Mom's Choice Awards! The Mom's Choice Awards® (MCA) evaluates products and services created for parents and educators and is globally recognized for establishing the benchmark of excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. Using a rigorous evaluation process, entries are scored on a number of elements including production quality, design, educational value, entertainment value, originality, appeal and cost. Around the world, parents, educators, retailers and members of the media trust the MCA Honoring Excellence seal when selecting quality products and services for families and children.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mists of Darkness, the second book in The Mist Trilogy, is a suspenseful adventure story that continues the saga of Nick, a young boy, and Jazz, the horse he loves. In book one, tragedy strikes both horse and rider and they learn of a new land of Celestia, where they can go because they have been virtuous in life: Jazz as a unicorn and Nick as a unicorn rider. In this book, they learn of an ominous dark mist that has settled over Churchill Downs racetrack on earth in Kentucky. When the mist rises, several horses are missing, and the unicorns know Hasbadana, an evil unicorn and ruler of the Dark Kingdom, is to blame. The mist returns to other places on earth, and many horses join with Hasbadana in his quest to conquer the earth. Nick and Lazari (Jazz’s new name as a unicorn) and the others in the Legion of the Unicorn work together to stop Hasbadana. These books are fine adventure stories with lots of action that will keep 12- to 16-year-olds reading. They carry a message to the reader, as they are also touching tales of good and evil, love, honor, redemption, and more. I would recommend these books to anyone who enjoys fantasy, horses, and most especially unicorns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sjustus More than 1 year ago
I read Mists of Darkness just before Christmas and then purchased 6 copies of the book for grandchildren and children of friends. Additionally, I have two grown sons who love fantasy books and are reading this series. The book is very well written and continues the story of Nick and Jazz. There is plenty of suspense for youth who love horses and "cliff hangers". I am anxious to read the third book, and I have plenty of family anxiously awaiting the opportunity also. In my opinion, this is a wonderful series; a strong story line, lots of action, and well presented lessons on good and evil.
USCDDS More than 1 year ago
In book two of the thrilling Mist trilogy, Nick and his horse Jazz are finally formally inducted into the Legion of the Unicorn, with Jazz becoming a full-fledged unicorn and hence forth being known as Lazari. Their happiness over this achievement is short lived, however, after disturbing reports from the mortal world begin trickling into Celestia. Dark, dense mists have been suddenly overtaking horse locations all over the world, with many horses going missing during the subsequent chaos. Urijah, the Lord and ruler of Celestia, sends Nick and Lazari to discover who or what is behind these mists of darkness. After traveling to Earth, they learn that Hasbadana, the fallen unicorn who rules in the Dark Kingdom, is actively recruiting horses to join him in a rebellion against the human population. The unicorns of Celestia now must face an open war in order to protect both humans and animals from the destructive lies of Hasbadana.  I had the pleasure of reading the first book in this trilogy, Behind the Mist. While reading this book, I saw how much the writing and storytelling had matured and deepened since book 1. This is such a great story. The plot is simple enough for young readers to enjoy and learn from, but also layered so that adult readers can find meaning beyond the surface story. I know the author wrote this aimed at “middle grade readers,” the reading group just below “young adult” in age, but by no measure will older readers be anything less than enthralled and entertained. Fans of books such as The Chronicles of Narnia or The Hobbit will find The Mist Trilogy a welcome addition to the fantasy oeuvre. Also, with the author's obvious background in the equestrian world, horse lovers will find plenty to keep them interested on top of the adventure with excellent descriptions of riding events, techniques, and competitions. I anxiously look forward to the third and final entry in The Mist Trilogy! I highly recommend this book. 
Adrienna More than 1 year ago
I had the pleasure of reading the first book of the Mist Trilogy and now reading the next installment of the three book series. Once again, the author writes a sensational book with a fairytale twist of good and evil with a mixture of horses, unicorns, fairies, and mystical beings in Celestria. Now the darkness takes a toil in Churchill Downs race track in Kentucky, where in the dark mist several horses disappeared without a trace. The suspense draws the reader in and wonders how the dark leader, Hasbadana, cunning demeanor will cause chaos and havoc in the land of Celestria and now on earth. Moreover, there were valuable lessons shared on love, redemption, and even forgiveness where one can turn from their evil ways. Yet sometimes it will take time before they can become trustworthy. This book touched me on so many levels, mostly morally and spiritually. The unicorns mission is to fulfill their assignment on earth, just like as humans we are called to do. Once the transformation has been completed, we'll receive new names and even new positions like Lazari (once named Jazz) to help others develop and transform into who they are called to be. I would highly recommend this book for 12-17 year olds. Adults with childlike spirits are also welcome to read this literature. Dream 4 More Reviews has received Mists of Darkness by the author for a book review. Dream 4 More Reviews, Wooed Me Dream Adrienna Turner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago