Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Mixed Plate: Chronicles of an All-American Combo

Mixed Plate: Chronicles of an All-American Combo

by Jo Koy
Mixed Plate: Chronicles of an All-American Combo

Mixed Plate: Chronicles of an All-American Combo

by Jo Koy


$15.99 $17.99 Save 11% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 11%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 5


A stunning, hilarious memoir from Jo Koy, star of the major motion picture Easter Sunday, creator of the Netflix specials In His Elements and Coming in Hot and “far and away one of the funniest people out there” (Chelsea Handler). Mixed Plate illuminates the burning drive, celebration of his Filipino heritage and the brilliant comedic talent that make Jo Koy one of the world’s most successful comedians. Includes never-before-seen photos.

In a memoir that is both surprising in its honesty and not surprising all for being laugh out loud ridiculous, Jo Koy delivers his life story for fans, and for anyone who has defied the expectations of their family and maybe even themselves. If you’ve ever seen Jo Koy’s standup, you know that his road to success has been…well…bumpy. As a half-Filipino, half-white kid with a mom who didn’t think much of his comedy career goals, Jo had a lot to prove. Add in the realities of the immigrant experience, alcoholism, poverty and mental illness and you can understand why Jo Koy found solace in the VHS tapes he made of Eddie Murphy and George Carlin specials. In the end, Mixed Plate is his path to achieving his version of the American Dream, one that he lives out loud today while celebrating his heritage, the life he’s been able to provide for his son Joe, Jr., and all the wonderful craziness of his great big Filipino family …that also happen to be universal. 

Just like Hawaii’s favorite lunch, the mixed plate, this book takes a little bit of this, a little bit of that from a few cultures and creates a delicious whole.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062969972
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/05/2022
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 93,125
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Jo Koy, one of today’s premiere comedians, entertains audiences across the world and inspires them with his infectious energy. His 2017 Netflix special, Jo Koy: Live from Seattle, was so successful that he released a follow-up sequel in June 2019, and his 2017 Break the Mold tour sold out tens of thousands of seats from New York City to Sydney to Amsterdam. In July 2018, he was named Stand-Up Comedian of the Year at the Montreal Just for Laughs Festival. He lives in Los Angeles.


Table of Contents

Introduction ix

1 The American Way 1

2 My Great Escape 25

3 This Crazy Thing Called Divorce 47

4 "I Was Right. You Should've Died." 69

5 Fred and Titty Baby 95

6 Looking for Gold 119

7 The First Laugh 143

8 Live from the Hustle 169

9 King No More 195

10 The Tiny Game-Changer 209

11 You're the Fucking Man 231

12 Immigrant Revolution 271

Acknowledgments 295

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items