Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Money Talks: British Monarchs and History in Coins

Money Talks: British Monarchs and History in Coins

by Bob Whittington
Money Talks: British Monarchs and History in Coins

Money Talks: British Monarchs and History in Coins

by Bob Whittington


$10.99 $11.99 Save 8% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $11.99. You Save 8%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Money Talks is a fast-paced history of the humble British coin, the events which at times literally shaped it and the stories reflected in its creation. It has been used to barter and to bribe, to hold a cloak in place and to pay a king’s ransom, been an object of pride and a symbol of courage. The coin has witnessed the great events in history – about kings and queens and the transfer of power – and it speaks to us of generations passed, of battles and heroic deeds, of countries and empires as well as of moments we would rather forget. Money Talks is about how such a small object of desire has been regarded as a symbol of power and authority for more than 2,500 years. It traces British history through the one thing that has come to dominate our lives – hard cash – and it demonstrates how monarchs down the centuries have used it to fund their wars, maintain their lifestyles and portray their image to prove their position or legitimatise dubious claims to the throne. From time to time the coin has slipped out of use altogether as bartering goods was preferred to poor quality coinage for day-to-day business. It has been hoarded for safer times and simply used as adornment. But even as the modern world turns increasingly to electronic transactions moving billions around the world at the touch of a button, the coin retains its place at the heart of everyday life.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781849953566
Publisher: Whittles Publishing
Publication date: 06/12/2017
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 176
File size: 10 MB

About the Author

Bob, a former journalist in newspapers, BBC and ITN, has written books on current affairs as well as novels and biographies in his own name and as a ghost writer (

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements vii

Intoduction ix

1 Iron Age - Roman Britain 1

2 Anglo-Saxon Kings 14

3 Normans and the Anarchy 31

4 The Angevin Empire and the Plantagenets 43

5 The Lancastrians and the Yorkists 68

6 The Tudor Dynasty 76

7 The Elizabethan Era 95

8 The Stuart Dynasty 100

9 The Commonwealth and Protectorate 110

10 The Restoration 116

11 To the Hanoverian Succession 126

12 Victoria to George V 145

13 Abdication To Elizabeth II 155

Customer Reviews