Monteverdi: Vespers

Monteverdi: Vespers

by Robert Howarth


$24.69 $25.99 Save 5% Current price is $24.69, Original price is $25.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22


Recorded live in 2010 for the 400th anniversary of Claudio Monteverdi's Vespers of the Blessed Virgin, 1610, this is a fitting tribute to one of the early masterpieces of Baroque music. Capably performed on period instruments by the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, directed by Robert Howarth, and sung with fluidity and light tone by the Choir of the Enlightenment, this historically informed reading offers a mixture of grand sacred drama and quiet reflection, reflecting both Monteverdi's ecstatic choral writing and his florid solo vocal parts, which are as impassioned as his operatic arias. The diversity of styles and expressions in this work makes it an ideal vehicle for an early music ensemble to demonstrate its full range, and the skills and resources of both the orchestra and choir are brilliantly displayed. The sound of the recording is good, though not first-rate: there are occasional problems with the voices being close up or far off, but not altogether in the same space. Whether this comports with some intended directional or antiphonal effects or is even caused by unusual microphone placement, it is a little disconcerting in the stereo mix. But the compelling interest of the music makes this one criticism seem minor, and the loveliness of the vocal production overrides the less than exceptional audio quality.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/26/2011
Label: Signum Uk
UPC: 0635212023723
catalogNumber: 237
Rank: 278873


  1. Sonata seconda a violino solo
  2. Magnificat II, for 6 voices and organ (from Vespers), SV 206a
  3. Exultent caeli et gaudeant angeli, motet for 5 voices, SV 304
  4. Ave maris stella, for soprano, tenor & chorus (from Vespro della Beata Vergine), SV 206/12
  5. Sonata sopra 'Sancta Maria ora pro nobis', for soprano, 3 horns, 2 trombones, 2 violins & cello (from Vespers), SV 206/11
  6. Lauda, Jerusalem, Dominum, motet for 7 voices (from Vespers), SV 206/10
  7. Audi, coelum, verba mea, motet for 7 voices (from Vespro della Beata Vergine), SV 206/9
  8. Nisi Dominus aedificaverit domum, for 10 voices (from Vespers), SV 206/8
  9. Duo Seraphim clamabant, motet for 3 tenors (from Vespers), SV 206/7
  10. Laetatus sum, motet for 6 voices (from Vespers), SV 206/6
  11. Pulchra es, amica mea, motet for 2 sopranos (from Vespers), SV 206/5
  12. Laudate, pueri, Dominum, motet for 8 voices & organ (from Vespers), SV 206/4
  13. Nigra sum sed formosa, antiphon for tenor (from Vespers), SV 206/3
  14. Dixit Dominus, motet for 6 voices and 6 strings (from Vespers), SV 206/2
  15. Domine ad adiuvandum, motet for 6 voices (from Vespers), SV 206/1

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews