Montreux '77

Montreux '77

by Count Basie Big Band


$9.78 $11.99 Save 18% Current price is $9.78, Original price is $11.99. You Save 18%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Montreux '77

Count Basie always seemed to kick things up a notch when he took his big band out on-stage, and this early morning set recorded at the 1977 Montreux Jazz Festival is no exception. This edition of the band was a good one, with the presence of Al Grey, Jimmy Forrest, Charles Fowlkes, and of course, the heartbeat of the band, Freddie Green. Basie was not one to coast by sticking to endless rehashing of the same old hits for decades; newer contributions include the furious opener "The Heat's On" and the jaunty "Freckle Face," both written by Sam Nestico; tenor saxophonist Jimmy Forrest is featured on his original ballad "Bag of Dreams." But Basie was also aware he needed to please the crowd by dipping into familiar material, so he showcases Al Grey in an easygoing take of "The More I See You" and trumpeter Waymon Reed in a driving performance of "A Night in Tunisia." The set wraps with a trio of tunes forever associated with Count Basie: the elegant "Li'l Darlin'" and rousing renditions of "Jumpin' at the Woodside" and the obligatory finale of "One O'Clock Jump." Producer Norman Granz mentions in his notes that Basie's piano is more prominent in the mix due to the engineer's unfamiliarity with the band's typical recorded sound, but as a result, all of the rhythm section, including the overlooked Freddie Green, can be more easily appreciated by novice jazz fans for the fuel they provide to the large ensemble.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/01/1991
Label: Ojc
UPC: 0025218637725
catalogNumber: 377
Rank: 62374

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Count Basie Big Band   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Count Basie   Piano
Jimmy Forrest   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Freddie Green   Guitar,Saxophone
Grey   Trombone
Lin Biviano   Trumpet
Sonny Cohn   Trumpet
Eric Dixon   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
John Duke   Bass
Charlie Fowlkes   Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Bill Hughes   Trombone
Butch Miles   Drums
Bobby Mitchell   Trumpet
Bobby Plater   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Waymon Reed   Trumpet
Danny Turner   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Mel Wanzo   Trombone
Dennis Wilson   Trombone

Technical Credits

Norman Granz   Producer,Liner Notes,Cover Design
Val Valentin   Remixing
Phil Carroll   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews