Moonflower [Bonus Tracks]

Moonflower [Bonus Tracks]

by Santana

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

$15.45 $15.99 Save 3% Current price is $15.45, Original price is $15.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16


Moonflower was a bit of a strange deal in that the sprawling double album mixed live material from a 1976 London concert with studio tracks from 1977. The mixture also meant that several different lineups were involved, though there was an omnipresent core in Carlos Santana and keyboardist Tom Coster; the pair also wrote most of the original material. Inevitably, perhaps, the live tracks outshone the studio ones, if only because the live selections included reworkings of the tried-and-true crowd-pleasing classics "Black Magic Woman," "Dance Sister Dance (Baila Mi Hermana)," "Europa (Earth's Cry Heaven's Smile)," and "Soul Sacrifice." Yet the studio material wasn't superfluous, yielding a hit single in the Santana-fied cover of the Zombies' "She's Not There," as well as Coster's delicately haunting instrumental "Flor D'Luna (Moonflower)." Most of the studio (and, for that matter, concert) stuff wasn't as concise or pop-friendly as "She's Not There," but the studio tracks in particular saw the band toning down the more experimental jazz-rock fusion directions they had explored in previous albums, though they were still prone to meander for too long. Commercially, the stew certainly worked: Moonflower was a Top Ten, million-selling album, their best-seller in about five years. The 2003 CD reissue adds the shorter single versions of "Black Magic Woman," "I'll Be Waiting," and "She's Not There" as bonus tracks.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2003
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646359426
catalogNumber: 63594
Rank: 26174

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Santana   Primary Artist
Tom Coster   Strings,Marimbas,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals,Vibes,fender rhodes,Soloist,Mini Moog,Piano (Grand),Analogue Synthesizer,Arp Odyssey,Arp Omni,Arp Strings
Pete Escovedo   Maracas,Timbales,Guiro
Greg Walker   Vocals,Background Vocals
José Chepitó Areas   Conga,Timbales,Bell-tree
Graham Lear   Percussion,Drums
David Margen   Electric Bass
Raul Rekow   Percussion,Bongos,Conga,Background Vocals,Surdo,cowbell
Pablo Tellez   Electric Bass
Carlos Santana   Guitar,Percussion,Conga,Timbales,Background Vocals
Tom Coster   Soloist

Technical Credits

Michael Shrieve   Composer
Tom Coster   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements,String Ensemble,Music Direction
Gabor Szabo   Composer
José Chepitó Areas   Composer
Rod Argent   Composer
Gregg Rolie   Composer
Leon Patillo   Composer
Sri Chinmoy   Author
David Brown   Composer
Mike Carabello   Composer
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Composer
George Engfer   Engineer
Bill Graham   Producer,Engineering
Peter Green   Composer
Herbert Greene   Art Direction
Glen Kolotkin   Producer,Engineer
Graham Lear   Composer
Marcus Malone   Composer
David Rubinson   Composer
Rod Thear   Engineer
Tommy Vicari   Engineer
Hal Miller   Liner Notes
Bob Irwin   Producer
Carlos Santana   Composer
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
Tom Coster   Programming
Ray Etzler   Engineering
Russ Anderson   Graphic Design
Peter Crumb   Engineer
Dan Ichimoto   Graphic Design
Glen Knolotkin   Producer,Engineer
Abe Vélez   Packaging Manager,Package Manager
David Rubinson & Friends   Producer,Live Recording

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Moonflower 0 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 0 reviews.