Pub. Date:


by 311311


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 27


Nearly three decades into their careers, 311 unveiled Mosaic, their 12th album of fusion rock that continues their tried-and-true combination of reggae, hip-hop, and alternative metal. The fourth set produced by Scott "Scotch" Ralston, Mosaic extends the path of 2014's Stereolithic -- deeper lyrics and expert execution -- except with a more exciting and uplifting vibe. The island influences make this an enjoyable summertime soundtrack, but aside from the outright tropical cabana vibe of "Island Sun," Mosaic's tunes are more fit for a sunset rager on a sweaty beach. "The Night Is Young" starts with a chilled-out groove courtesy of guitarist Tim Mahoney, bassist P-Nut, and drummer Chad Sexton, before doubling-down with a crunchy blast that kicks sand into the face of anyone who thought 311 were getting soft in their forties. "One in the Same" and "Hey Yo" are absolute assaults that also prove this point nicely. Such satisfying riffs and pounding drums abound on Mosaic, offering a bountiful handful of "classic" 311 tracks to "open up the pit," as S.A. Martinez raps on "Perfect Mistake." He continues, "This is life, man/All we do is jam/We'll make you feel like a child/Again and again." Indeed, the warm feelings of nostalgia continuously bubble up on "Too Late," "One in the Same," "Face in the Wind," and many more. John Feldmann (Goldfinger, blink-182, All Time Low) joins the production team for a handful of entries, infusing ''Til the City's on Fire" with a dancehall/pop-punk heartbeat that even includes a bass drop, and the contemplative "Places That the Mind Goes" with a distinct "Amber" energy. At a hefty 17 songs, Mosaic seems like it might overstay its welcome. However, with the amount of variety on display -- a "mosaic" of sounds, if you will -- the LP serves as an energetic soundtrack with thrilling peaks and blissed-out valleys, making it yet another gift to their dedicated fan base and another possible entry point for casual listeners who haven't checked out the Omaha quintet since "Down" or "Love Song." Closing with the anthemic "On a Roll," Nick Hexum sings "Gonna keep it alive/We're always chasing the sun/Writing words to a book/Another chapter's begun." It's a triumphant declaration from these vets, a rousing promise that the party has yet to end. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/2017
Label: Bmg Rights Managemen
UPC: 0190296967054
catalogNumber: 69670
Rank: 172493


  1. Too Much To Think
  2. Wildfire
  3. The Night Is Young
  4. Island Sun
  5. Perfect Mistake
  6. Extension
  7. Inside Our Home
  8. 'Til the City's On Fire
  9. Too Late
  10. Hey Yo
  11. Places That the Mind Goes
  12. Face in the Wind
  13. Forever Now
  14. Days of '88
  15. One and the Same
  16. Syntax Error
  17. On a Roll

Album Credits

Performance Credits

311   Primary Artist
P-Nut   Bass
Tim Mahoney   Guitar
S.A. Martinez   Vocals
Chad Sexton   Drums
Nick Hexum   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Tim Mahoney   Composer
Chad Sexton   Composer
John Feldmann   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Aaron Wills   Composer
Zack Hexum   Composer
Evan Taubenfeld   Composer
Matt Pauling   Composer,Engineer,Additional Production
Brian Bowen-Smith   Band Photo
Nick Hexum   Composer
Alan Hampton   Composer
Doug Martinez   Composer
Randall Leddy   Art Direction
Nathaniel Caserta   Composer
Dillon Pace   Composer
Taylor Bringuel   Cover Design
Geoffrey Earley   Composer
Zakk Cervini   Composer,Engineer
Scotch Ralston   Composer,Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews