Moulin Rouge [Bonus Track]

Moulin Rouge [Bonus Track]


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18


At the very least, director Baz Luhrmann has created something different here. His modern-day musical weaves new cover versions of songs from the past three decades into one story about a brothel in turn of the century Paris. Its an odd combination to begin with, and the soundtrack itself bounces back and forth between very hip, modern tracks from artists at the top of their game and big Broadway-style ballads from the cast of the film. Some of the most well-respected names in music signed on for the project, including Beck, Bono, Timbaland, and David Bowie. Fatboy Slim created a "Can Can" for the next generation with "Because We Can," and Christina Aguilera, Lil' Kim, Pink, and Mya teamed up for a surefire hit with their naughtier version of Patti Labelle's "Lady Marmalade." In stark contrast to these edgy tracks, the album spends the rest of its time on love songs from Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman. They perform big-voiced, orchestra-backed versions of sentimental favorites like Elton John's "Your Song." The "Elephant Love Medley" strings together some of pop's sappiest hits, including "Up Where We Belong," "One More Night," and "I Will Always Love You." Perhaps to many people's surprise, Kidman and McGregor can really sing, and maybe in a different environment it would be easier to take these songs seriously, but standing here outside the context of the film and next to Beck covering David Bowie, they seem more comic than creative. [The 2001 edition included one bonus track.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/24/2007
Label: Imports
UPC: 0606949050726
catalogNumber: 679942
Rank: 36467


  1. Nature Boy
  2. Lady Marmalade
  3. Because We Can
  4. Sparkling Diamonds
  5. Rhythm of the Night
  6. Your Song
  7. Children of the Revolution
  8. One Day I'll Fly Away
  9. Diamond Dogs
  10. Elephant Love Medley
  11. Come What May
  12. El Tango de Roxanne
  13. Complainte de La Butte
  14. Hindi Sad Diamonds
  15. Nature Boy
  16. Lady Marmalade

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews