Mozart: Die Zauberflöte

Mozart: Die Zauberflöte

by Klaus Florian VogtKlaus Florian Vogt


$28.28 $29.99 Save 6% Current price is $28.28, Original price is $29.99. You Save 6%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This 2019 recording was the sixth in the series of Mozart operas undertaken by tenor Rolando Villazón and conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin, a hot property in the operatic world at the time. It has sold well out of the gate. Perhaps this is because "Die Zauberflöte," even more than other Mozart operas, was ripe for a fresh interpretation. It gets one in this production from the Baden-Baden Festspielhaus, with Villazón taking for himself not the tenor role of Tamino, which you might expect, but that of the comic-romantic, usually baritone Papageno. It works here because it fits with Nézet-Séguin's overall conception of the work. You might divide recordings and performances of "Die Zauberflöte" into two groups: those that treat the opera as a small, semi-popular work, and those that take it at full scale. Nézet-Séguin decides he can have it all, and he pulls it off. Much of the opera is light and delicately funny, and Villazón adapts well to this. He avoids a cutesy sound throughout, and he isn't challenged in his lower register simply because Nézet-Séguin is not asking for a lot of volume. Klaus Florian Vogt's Tamino is similarly restrained. But when Mozart calls for a big sound, Nézet-Séguin is not afraid to draw the contrast. The Queen of the Night, Russian soprano Albina Shagimuratova, offers an unusually muscular "Der Hölle Rache," avoiding any trace of squeakiness, and the scenes with Sarastro and his royal entourage are given full sonic splendor. The overall effect is an alternation between low comedy and spectacle, and this may have been very close to what Mozart and Schikaneder had in mind. The rest of the cast, mostly German, is uniformly strong, and this is a highly recommended "Zauberflöte" all in all.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/02/2019
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028948364008
catalogNumber: 003069702
Rank: 96607


  1. Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute), opera, K. 620

    1. Ouvertüre  (06:00)
    2. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 9 Marsch der Priester  (02:24)
    3. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 1 Introduktion: Zu Hilfe! Zu Hilfe! Sonst bin ich verloren  (05:57)
    4. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Ihr Diener der großen Götter Osiris und Isis  (01:16)
    5. Erster Aufzug: Dialog: Wo bin ich?  (00:11)
    6. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 10 Arie mit Chor: O Isis und Osiris  (02:48)
    7. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 2 Arie: Der Vogelfänger bin ich ja  (02:50)
    8. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Eine schreckliche Nacht!  (02:17)
    9. Erster Aufzug: Dialog: He da! Du lustiger Freund!  (02:32)
    10. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 11 Duett: Bewahret euch vor Weibertücken  (00:51)
    11. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 3 Arie: Dies Bildnis ist bezaubernd schön  (03:43)
    12. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: He, Lichter her!  (00:09)
    13. Erster Aufzug: Dialog: Rüste dich mit Mut und Standhaftigkeit  (00:41)
    14. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 12 Quintett: Wie? Wie? Wie? Ihr an diesem Schreckensort?  (02:58)
    15. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 4 Rezitativ und Arie: O zittre nicht, mein lieber Sohn!  (01:04)
    16. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Tamino! Dein standhaft männliches Betragen hat gesiegt  (01:12)
    17. Erster Aufzug: Zum Leiden bin ich auserkoren  (03:27)
    18. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 13 Arie: Alles fühlt der Liebe Freuden  (01:14)
    19. Erster Aufzug: Dialog: Ist's denn auch Wirklichkeit, was ich sah?  (00:08)
    20. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Zurück! Die Göttin der Nacht! - Mutter!  (00:52)
    21. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 5 Quintett: Hm, hm, hm, hm  (05:35)
    22. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 14 Arie: Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen  (02:56)
    23. Erster Aufzug: Dialog: He Sklaven! Schafft Fesseln herbei!  (00:04)
    24. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Morden soll ich?  (00:38)
    25. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 6 Terzett: Du feines Täubchen, nur herein!  (01:48)
    26. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 15 Arie: In diesen heil'gen Hallen  (03:48)
    27. Erster Aufzug: Dialog: Bin ich nicht ein Narr, dass ich mich schrecken ließ?  (01:35)
    28. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Tamino! - Pst!  (01:13)
    29. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 7 Duett: Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen  (03:01)
    30. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 16 Terzett: Seid uns zum zweiten Mal willkommen  (01:30)
    31. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 8 Finale: Zum Ziele führt dich diese Bahn  (01:26)
    32. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Tamino! Ich hörte deine Flöte  (01:04)
    33. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 8 Finale: Die Weisheitslehre dieser Knaben  (07:28)
    34. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 17 Arie: Ach, ich fühl's, es ist verschwunden  (03:55)
    35. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 8 Finale: Wie stark ist nicht dein Zauberton  (02:39)
    36. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Nicht wahr Tamino, ich kann auch schweigen  (01:02)
    37. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 8 Finale: Schnelle Füße, rascher Mut  (01:04)
    38. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 18 Chor der Priester: O Isis und Osiris  (02:37)
    39. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 8 Finale: Ha, hab ich euch noch erwischt?  (02:02)
    40. Zweiter Aufzug: Prinz, nun hast du noch zwei gefährliche Wege zu wandern  (00:42)
    41. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 8 Finale: Es lebe Sarastro! Sarastro lebe!  (01:37)
    42. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 19 Terzett: Soll ich dich, Teurer, nicht mehr sehn?  (02:43)
    43. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 8 Finale: Herr, ich bin zwar Verbrecherin  (02:43)
    44. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Mensch, Papageno! Du hättest verdient, auf immer in finstern Klüften der Er  (00:50)
    45. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 8 Finale: Ja, stolzer Jüngling, nur hierher  (02:04)
    46. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 20 Arie: Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen  (04:11)
    47. Erster Aufzug: Nr. 8 Finale: Wennn Tugend und Gerechtigkeit  (01:14)
    48. Zweiter Aufzug: Dialog: Da bin ich schon, mein Engel!  (01:10)
    49. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 21 Finale: Bald prangt, den Morgen zu verkünden  (01:38)
    50. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 21 Finale: Du also bist mein Bräutigam?  (03:54)
    51. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 21 Finale: Der, welcher wandert diese Straße voll Beschwerden  (07:53)
    52. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 21 Finale: Wir wandelten durch Feuersgluten  (03:00)
    53. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 21 Finale: Papagena! Weibchen! Täubchen!  (05:24)
    54. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 21 Finale: Pa-Pa-Papagena!/Pa-pa-Papageno!  (02:17)
    55. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 21 Finale: Nur stille, stille, stille, stille!  (01:47)
    56. Zweiter Aufzug: Nr. 21 Finale: Die Strahlen der Sonne vertreiben die Nacht  (02:44)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews