Mozart: The String Quartets

Mozart: The String Quartets

by Hagen Quartett


$42.09 $55.99 Save 25% Current price is $42.09, Original price is $55.99. You Save 25%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Mozart: The String Quartets

Recorded between 1989 and 2004, the Hagen Quartet's recordings of Mozart's complete music for string quartet is clearly the finest set of the works released in the early digital age. For one thing, because the collection includes not only the 23 canonical string quartets but also the three early "Divertimenti for string quartet," the five Fugues from Bach's "Well-Tempered Clavier" arranged by Mozart, and the late "Adagio and Fugue in C minor," their set really is the complete music for string quartet. For another thing, because the performances were recorded by Deutsche Grammophon in their finest translucent digital sound, this set is the cleanest and clearest available. But, most importantly, the Hagen's performances are certainly among the finest ever given to the music. The wit, the charm, the poise, the elegance, the balance, the depth, the sheer ravishing beauty of Mozart's string quartet writing have rarely been so fully realized -- and then only in stereo sets that include only the 23 standard quartets. For performance, sound, and inclusiveness, this set is the one to get if you're looking to get only one set of Mozart's quartets.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/10/2006
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947762539
catalogNumber: 000649302
Rank: 103665


  1. Divertimento for string quartet (or string orchestra) in D major ("Salzburg Symphony No. 1"), K. 136 (K. 125a)
  2. Divertimento for string quartet (or string orchestra) in B flat major ("Salzburg Symphony No. 2"), K. 137 (K. 125b)
  3. Divertimento for string quartet (or string orchestra) in F major ("Salzburg Symphony No. 3"), K. 138 (K. 125c)
  4. String Quartet No. 1 in G major ("Lodi"), K. 80 (K. 73f)
  5. String Quartet No. 2 in D major, K. 155 (K. 134a)
  6. String Quartet No. 3 in G major, K. 156 (K. 134b)
  7. String Quartet No. 4 in C major, K. 157
  8. String Quartet No. 5 in F major, K. 158
  9. String Quartet No. 6 in B flat major, K. 159
  10. String Quartet No. 7 in E flat major, K. 160 (K. 159a)
  11. String Quartet No. 8 in F major, K. 168
  12. String Quartet No. 9 in A major, K. 169
  13. String Quartet No. 10 in C major, K. 170
  14. String Quartet No. 11 in E flat major, K. 171
  15. String Quartet No. 12 in B flat major, K. 172
  16. String Quartet No. 13 in D minor, K. 173
  17. String Quartet No. 14 in G major ("Spring"), K. 387
  18. String Quartet No. 15 in D minor, K. 421 (K. 417b)
  19. Serenade No. 13 for strings in G major ("Eine kleine Nachtmusik"), K. 525
  20. String Quartet No. 16 in E flat, K. 428 (K. 421b)
  21. String Quartet No. 17 in B flat major ("Hunt"), K. 458
  22. String Quartet No. 21 in D major ("Prussian 1"), K. 575
  23. String Quartet No. 18 in A major, K. 464
  24. String Quartet No. 19 in C major ("Dissonant"), K. 465
  25. Fugues (5) for string quartet (transcribed from Bach's Well Tempered Clavier, Book 2) K. 405
  26. Adagio and Fugue for string quartet (or string orchestra) in C minor, K. 546
  27. String Quartet No. 20 in D major ("Hoffmeister"), K. 499
  28. String Quartet No. 22 in B flat major ("Prussian 2"), K. 589
  29. String Quartet No. 23 in F major ("Prussian 3"), K. 590

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews