A Much Married Man: A Novel

A Much Married Man: A Novel

by Nicholas Coleridge
2.0 3

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

A Much Married Man: A Novel by Nicholas Coleridge

From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene, comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of Gosford Park and Snobs.

A man of wealth and privilege, Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable social standing, and a desirable inheritance. But with all of his money and privilege, Anthony still has an aching desire for one thing: the perfect match. Running headlong into marriage is Anthony's forte…and his greatest weakness.
As Anthony surveys Winchford Priory, his beautiful Elizabethan house in the English countryside, Anthony has the distinct feeling that he's under siege. And he's absolutely right. He may be surrounded by his sprawling estate, but lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of his complicated past, including three ex-wives, a mistress, and a legion of children and stepchildren, all dependent on him and all determined to do whatever it takes to get what they want.


Meet the wives

Amanda: the ravishing first wife. Unpredictable and mesmerizing, she dared Anthony to fall in love with her, and he took her up on the challenge. Anthony was head over heels from the first night they danced on the rooftop of his family home. Of course, the free-spirited Amanda was never cut out for country life, but young love is blind.

Sandra: the steadfast second wife. Sturdy, dependable and domesticated, Sandra pulled Anthony back from the compelling chaos that surrounded his first wife. Sandra had plans to turn Anthony's estate into a proper family home, until a stunning secret forced her to make a life-altering decision.

Dita: the snobbish third wife. A true force of nature, Dita was smart, tough, rapaciously social and high-maintenance. She enthusiastically stormed through Anthony's life, organizing and rearranging, and rubbing plenty of people the wrong way, particularly the previous Mrs. Anscombes and their children.

With the entire cast of his life roosting in the village, it's no wonder Anthony doesn't have a minute's peace! Adding to the crazy mix is the mistress, Nora, a new age hippy and acupuncturist, whom Anthony seduced with disastrous consequences.

A Much Married Man is a wickedly funny social satire with memorable characters that will stay with readers long after the final page. Like a modern day Edith Wharton or Anthony Trollope, Nicholas Coleridge delivers a sensational glimpse inside the salacious world of the upper classes.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781429915779
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 06/12/2007
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 464
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

NICHOLAS COLERIDGE, a former newspaper columnist and editor of Harpers&Queen, is now U.K. Managing Director of Condé Nast magazines. His bestselling novels have been published in twelve languages. He lives in London and Worcestershire with his family.
Nicholas Coleridge is managing director of Condé Nast in Britain, the magazine publishing house that includes Vogue, Tatler, House&Garden and Vanity Fair. His bestselling novels, including The Adventuress and A Much Married Man, have been published in twelve languages.  He lives in England with his family.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Much Married Man 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Witty satire
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Boring, tedious. Didn't care about the characters. Not a believeable story.