Murder and More

Murder and More

by Gerald Darnell

Paperback

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 15

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781329600355
Publisher: Lulu.com
Publication date: 02/03/2016
Pages: 222
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.51(d)

About the Author

A Florida native, Gerald grew up in the small town of Humboldt, TN., where he attended high school. Following graduation from the Univ. of Tennessee, he spent time in Hopkinsville, KY, Memphis, TN and Newport, AR before moving back to Florida – where he now lives.
While living and working in Memphis, the author worked out of an office located just off the lobby of The Peabody Hotel. Many of the descriptions, events and stories about the hotel are from personal experiences.
This short story fiction work, “Murder and More” is what the author calls ‘Fiction for Fun’. It uses real places and real geography to spin a story that didn’t happen, but should be fun for the mystery reader. As a quick read, those familiar with the early 1960’s geography in the novel, will travel back in time to places that will always be remembered.
This is the fourteenth story in the Carson Reno series. The other books are available in paperback, hardback and e-book formats. Some are also offered as an audio book. His book, ‘Don’t Wake Me Until It’s Time to Go,’ is a non-fiction collection of stories, events and humorous observations from his life. Many friends and readers will find themselves in one of his adventures or stories.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder and More 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
JBronder More than 1 year ago
Dr. Henry Beaumont is a well-known surgeon and has been married to his wife Ava for ten years. But Henry is not faithful to his wife and has been seeing Olivia Hartley. Ava suspects something is up and hires private detective Donovan Tanner to dig up some dirt on Henry that she could use in her divorce. But Donovan finds some really good dirt and decides to blackmail Ava. Ava then turns to Carson Reno to deliver the blackmail money and get the documents. Unfortunately things go sideways and Carson ends up investigating who killed Henry. This is the first book from Gerald Darnell that I have read but it will not be my last. This is a great mystery based in the 60’s that rings true with classic private detective stories. I loved the pictures scattered through the book to give it that classic 60’s feel. The description in this world makes it easy to find yourself right there with Carson as he is chasing down a murderer. This is a great mystery with a classic detective feel. You have intrigue, mystery, killers, and a good looking dame. I really enjoyed this book and cannot wait to go back and catch up on this series. I recommend checking out this book. I received Murder and More from Ari at Candid Book Reviews for free. This has in no way influenced my opinion of this book.
theaterofthemind More than 1 year ago
I received an e-version of Murder and More by Gerald Darnell for review. Murder and More is the fourteenth installment in the Carson Reno Mystery Series. No, I haven't read the first thirteen, but after reading this entry, I don't think I would mind. It didn't seem to put me behind by not having read the first books, this story was pretty well self contained. Murder and More was a fun read. I don't read a lot of mysteries usually, but the hard-boiled, or noir genre does catch my interest. Murder and More did not disappoint, I could hear the bluesy-jazz music in my mind while reading the story. There were sleazy bad guys, extremely hot women, hard drinking, cool cars and twists and turns leading to the conclusion. As I said I don't read a lot of these type books, so I don't know the usual conventions. Murder and More was illustrated with pictures (not drawings) pertinent to the story. The picture of the scantily clad lady definitely caught my eye (a little cheesecake is not a bad thing). There were pictures of businesses mentioned in the book and pictures of cool classic cars (again not a bad thing). This did make the book more fun. It was fun reading about the way the private eyes "investigated", mostly letting things develop with out there intervention, but still making enemies of every bad guy in the area. Of course, our hero Carson Reno ties it all up neatly in the end (You think that is a spoiler? Reno has 14 books, he didn't get that many failing now did he?). Murder and More does contain graphic violence, but only hinted at sex, just like the 50's and 60's true detective stories my mother used to read when I was a kid. The language wasn't bad, the whole reading experience was like being back in the 60's, not what would be written today. In those days you could have either sex or violence, but not both. Which brings me to my biggest complaint about Murder and More, at one point we are teased with a hot female character wearing a bathing suit that would "stop traffic", did they have a picture of that? Nooo! We got a picture of a '57 caddy, nice car but come on! All kidding aside, Murder and More, by Gerald Darnell is candy for the hard-boiled detective fan. Enjoy! Mike
KimHeniadis More than 1 year ago
I don’t read a lot of hard-boiled crime, and this being book 14 in the Carson Reno Mystery series, I was a bit concerned that I might get lost with all of the characters, but I was pleased that was not the case. Gerald Darnell included enough back story that it was easy to follow along. And I also liked that he included previous case files/book titles so you knew which books the characters came from. I really enjoyed the style of this novel because it included pictures of historical places that Darnell was writing about, as well as other photos to enhance the story. It’s not often that adult novels contains pictures, so this was a nice change. The main characters were well developed, and the extras were developed enough that the story flowed well. It was enjoyable getting to see a glimpse of the 60’s, since that was a bit before I was born. The mystery itself was very well written, everything made sense, and there was enough twists and turns to keep it interesting. There was one thing that stood out to me, and broke my flow while reading, but it wouldn’t stop me from reading more novels in the Carson Reno series. It was in regards to the dialogue, mainly between Ava and Carson. Even after Carson asked her to call him Carson, she kept saying, “Mr. Reno…. Carson.” This also happened when the police were talking to Carson. And Carson would answer a lot of times with, “Hmm…” of something similar, when really no reply at all was needed. To me it just felt like filler to make the book a bit longer, and was not really necessary. If you enjoy hard boiled detective stories in the vein of Mike Hammer or Philip Marlowe, I would say to definitely give this one a read.
THouchin1 More than 1 year ago
Murder and More is the fourteenth book in the series Carson Reno Mystery Series. This is the first book in the series that I have read. I was able to follow the story just fine without having read the previous books. I take it that each book is a new case. The characters are carried over from book to book so you would get a better background on each person if you read the whole series, but it isn’t necessary. The main character is Carson Reno, who is a private detective. Much like Mickey Spillane’s, Mike Hammer character. The book is set in the 1960’s. Something I found interesting was the pictures Mr. Darnell added in the book. He would name a building and place a picture of the building from back in the 1960’s. People in that time period smoked like trains, he put up pictures of cigarette packages that I had long forgotten, but can remember seeing. He would mention answering the pay phone in the lobby and put up a picture of an old pay phone. The story itself has many twists and turns. I couldn’t figure out who committed the murders until it was revealed. I like it when it’s not obvious who the murderer is. I read this book in a day. Could not put it down. If you like a good old time mystery, give this one a try. I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. Thank you, Mr. Darnell, for sending me a copy of your book to review. Enjoy.
Richard_Bunning More than 1 year ago
A detective mystery set in the 1960s with an authentic feel of the 1960s. The book could so easily have been written then rather than in 2015. The read is nicely scattered with illustrative pictures from the period, which I can see adding a lot to the reading experience of those born later. I felt that I could be reading a period Mickey Spillane novel; the script felt that authentic. I'd even say that there are more than a few similarities between Mike Hammer and Carson Reno— well at least as how I remember the character. Then again, possibly Reno is a more James Garner in the Rockford Files TV series. Okay, that was very 1970s scripted, but the Rockford character could have been slotted seamlessly into any '50s/60s detective series. So then, for me, Carson Reno is possibly best described as a blend of Mike Hammer and Jim Rockford. The writing has a sharp journalistic economy, never burying us in irrelevances and keeping a brisk pace. Some of the bit players are easy to confuse, but that problem is relieved by the index of characters. This is the first Darnell book I've read. Love it. I can see this series of books on every paperback turntable in front of every '60s newspaper store. The mass market paperback days are, generally speaking, history, but that shouldn't limit the availability and popularity of Darnell's Carson Reno. This book is an object lesson in how to get that old paperback buzz into the e market. For those still addicted to traditional paper, the lovers of the smell and feel of 'pulp', for those that still have or are discovering vinyl records and classic cars, the hands-on version looks just as 60s slick. The period will always be culturally cool and so will Carson, with bourbon and coke and an after dinner cigar. This is a mystery detective novel, not a voyeuristic trip through violence and death, as so many modern genre books are. A read that may seriously damage your place in time.
MarinaBoteva More than 1 year ago
“Murder and More” happened to be just what I hoped it to be – a lot more than a crime novel. It is really one captivating book. It has great characters and amazing story line. I love the way Carson handles every situation, especially the ones including Irwin Clark. I love his hot temper and short patience - two characteristics that turn him into even better detective. I believe that it is extremely hard to write a crime novel these days, because there are just a certain number of ways a person could die. And there are just a certain number of reasons a person can be killed for. Moreover, there are so many books and movies written already, that I just cannot be surprised by a crime novel anymore. Nevertheless, “Murder and More” did surprise me! It was full of twists and new perspective. I was not sure until the end about who killed who. This book is just so good! I cannot wait for another book by Darnell
Amys_Bookshelf_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyable I did enjoy this story, and the characters were dynamic. The beginning murders caught me off guard, but I should've expected it. When it went from third person to first person, when the reader met the Private Detective, it flowed perfectly. Sometimes stories can get lost when there are two different POVs but this one did not. I wasn't quite sure of how I felt about the many "Carsons" but I did enjoy the story. Darnell is an author who is worth reading.