Murder by Lamplight

Murder by Lamplight

by Patrice McDonough
Murder by Lamplight

Murder by Lamplight

by Patrice McDonough

eBook

$13.49  $22.10 Save 39% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $22.1. You Save 39%.

Available on Compatible NOOK devices, the free NOOK App and in My Digital Library.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details

Overview

For fans of Andrea Penrose and Deanna Raybourn, and anyone who relishes riveting, well-researched historical fiction, this inventive and enthralling debut mystery set in Victorian London pairs the unconventional, trailblazing Dr. Julia Lewis with a traditional and skeptical police inspector, as they try to stop a wily serial killer whose vengeance has turned personal.
 
November 1866: The grisly murder site in London’s East End is thronged with onlookers. None of them expect the calmly efficient young woman among them to be a medical doctor, arrived to examine the corpse. Inspector Richard Tennant, overseeing the investigation, at first makes no effort to disguise his skepticism. But Dr. Julia Lewis is accustomed to such condescension . . .
 
To study medicine, Julia had to leave Britain, where universities still bar their doors to women, and travel to America. She returned home to work in her grandfather’s practice—and to find London in the grip of a devastating cholera epidemic. In four years, however, she has seen nothing quite like this—a local clergyman’s body sexually mutilated and displayed in a manner that she—and Tennant—both suspect is personal.
 
Days later, another body is found with links to the first, and Tennant calls in Dr. Lewis again. The murderer begins sending the police taunting letters and tantalizing clues—though the trail leads in multiple directions, from London’s music halls to its grim workhouses and dank sewers. Lewis and Tennant struggle to understand the killer’s dark obsessions and motivations. But there is new urgency, for the doctor’s role appears to have shifted from expert to target. And this killer is no impulsive monster, but a fiendishly calculating opponent, determined to see his plan through to its terrifying conclusion . . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781496746382
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 02/20/2024
Series: A Dr. Julia Lewis Mystery , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 9,081
File size: 683 KB

About the Author

Patrice McDonough taught history for over thirty years. She was lucky to grow up in a reading household—her mother and father always had current books by their reading chairs, and others lined up. They were a history‑loving family, too, which kindled her later professional direction. She read her way through her older brother’s hand‑me‑down copies of the Hardy Boys and all of Agatha Christie, so, as a mystery‑loving history teacher, it was natural that she would turn to the historical mystery genre. Visit her online at patricemcdonough1789.com.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews