Murder Comes Calling

Murder Comes Calling

by C. S. Challinor

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

When four murders take place in a secluded English community, Scottish barrister Rex Graves is called on by an old friend to lend his investigatory expertise. The authorities suspect a shady house agent, but letters written in blood on the bodies tip Rex off to a different kind of killer.

Digging into the past, Rex discovers that the victims were not who they appeared to be. For the first time, he's not up against a lone operator. With his fiancée away on a cruise, Rex must race to solve the murder before she catches him indulging his forbidden crime-solving hobby...or before he becomes the latest victim.

Praise:

"Satisfying...Smooth prose will keep cozy fans turning the pages."—Publishers Weekly

"Nicely mixes procedural detail and village charm and will appeal to fans of Deborah Crombie and Anne Cleeland."—Booklist

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780738745480
Publisher: Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD.
Publication date: 08/08/2015
Series: A Rex Graves Mystery Series , #7
Pages: 216
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 2.30(d)

About the Author

C.S. Challinor (Florida) was educated in England and Scotland, and has traveled extensively. Her short stories have been published in women’s magazines in the United States and the United Kingdom.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder Comes Calling 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Murder Comes Calling - Rex Graves Mystery Author: C. S. Challinor Published: 8-8-2015 Publisher: Midnight Ink Pages: 216 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense Sub Genre: British & Irish; Detective Mystery ISBN: 978-738745480 ASIN: B011J5Y5TQ Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley Rating: 4 1/2 Stars . . The Rex Graves mysteries is a bit more intense than a cozy, but not as heavy the newer terrorist thrillers out there today. Rex answers a request for help from his old college friend Malcolm Patterson who is a retired pathologist. Patterson was asked to accompany by a neighbor to join him in visiting another neighbor who Patterson saw laying on the floor through the window; when he enters the home to check on Ernest Black well and discover him murdered with a piano wire. Then another victim followed by a third then a fourth. Each killed in a different manner. The only common thread was that each had their homes up for sale with plans to move to Notting Hamlet, just as Rex's friend Patterson is in the process of doing. An unusual serial killer is at work and rex is in the very middle of it. Can this Scottish lawyer find a clever killer before he strikes closer to home? Quick moving with plenty of clues dropped though out the story. Although not all will lead in the right direction. Challinor leads readers on a merry chase as the story unfolds each character is well done and multi dimensional. As always her plots flow well and keep the reader involved with the story from the beginning to the surprising conclusion. My rating is 4 1/2 out of 5 Stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago