Murder in the Fens: An utterly addictive English cozy mystery novel

Murder in the Fens: An utterly addictive English cozy mystery novel

by Clare Chase

Paperback

$10.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 11

Overview

When the body of twenty-year-old Julie Cooper is found – her pockets stuffed full of wilting flowers – in an iron-age hill fort on the edge of the fens, Detective Tara Thorpe and her team are called in to investigate. The evidence points to an illicit affair gone wrong… but is there more to the story?



As always at the Cambridge Constabulary, the case turns personal. Detective Blake is exhausted after the arrival of a new baby with wayward wife Babette, and Tara is keen to put as much distance between herself and Blake as she can – both at the station and on the hunt for the killer. Charming rookie officer Jez is the perfect distraction… but is he a little too good to be true?



Then Tara makes a startling breakthrough when she finds an unsettling family heirloom hidden in the late victim’s bedroom – a golden statue of a sinister-looking cat with emerald eyes. As she traces its origins, Tara begins to realise that Julie’s murder is no one-off crime, but a sinister plot with its roots in a terrible secret that was covered up decades earlier.



An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Joy Ellis. Can be read as a standalone.



The Tara Thorpe Mystery Series:

Book 1 – Murder on the Marshes

Book 2 – Death on the River

Book 3 – Death Comes to Call

Book 4 – Murder in the Fens

Readers absolutely love Clare Chase:

Literally couldn't put it down!! This was an excellent thriller with well-developed characters and great twists!! From the first page until the end… a great ride of mystery, suspense and murder… Excellent thriller and crime read!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Wow what a book! One of the best mysteries I have read! Loved it from start to finish and couldn't put it down! A masterpiece! Plotting perfection! The writing is brilliant and flows off the page, the characters stay with you. A thoroughly satisfying, absolutely stunning book! I cannot wait to read more by this amazing author!’ Renita D’Silva

Fast-paced, twisty… I just ripped right through this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I have to say that I loved this book.’Jen Med’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

I absolutely loved this book… grabbed me by the throat from the opening chapter and refused to let go until the very end… The story was a fantastic puzzle... all set against the beautiful backdrop of Cambridge and the menacing emptiness of the surrounding Cambridgeshire fens.’ A Little Book Problem, 5 stars

Clever, twisty stories, with great characters.’ Kate Rhodes, author of Hell Bay

You'll enjoy her books including this one if you like Joy Ellis, L. J. Ross, and Faith Martin… I absolutely adored the setting here. It reminds a little of the sort of setting in Midsomer Murders – quaint and idyllic with some very shady characters. The twists in the plot were plentiful and I liked the relationship and dynamic between Thorpe and Blake.’ Goodreads reviewer

A tense, exciting read with plenty of twists… an addictive read.’ Goodreads reviewer



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781838880446
Publisher: Storyfire Ltd
Publication date: 06/24/2019
Series: A Tara Thorpe Mystery , #4
Pages: 314
Sales rank: 248,222
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews