Music and Morals

Music and Morals

by H. R. Haweis
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, December 10


The English cleric and writer H. R. Haweis (1838–1901) considers the philosophical side of music and how it is connected with emotions and morals in this 1871 publication. Containing an interesting mixture of musical philosophy and facts, the book is divided into four sections – Philosophical, Biographical, Instrumental and Critical – each of which comprises a series of short entries or essays on a wide range of subjects. Haweis provides informative biographies of a number of great composers, including Handel, Schubert, Mozart, Beethoven and Mendelssohn, together with analysis of some of their best-known works. He takes an in-depth look at a selection of instruments, including violins and pianos, and concludes with a section of short essays on a wide range of topics including brass bands, musical tastes in England, conductors and opera. Quirky and engaging, the book contains a wealth of information and will appeal to any music-lover.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781108038645
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 11/08/2011
Series: Cambridge Library Collection - Music Series
Pages: 596
Product dimensions: 5.51(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.34(d)

Table of Contents

Book I. Philosophical: Music, Emotion, and Morals; Book II. Biographical: From Ambrose to Handel; Handel; Gluck; Haydn; Schubert; Chopin; The letters of Mozart; The letters of Beethoven; Mendelssohn; Book III. Instrumental: Violins; Pianoforte; Bells; Book IV. Critical: Music in England; Conclusion; Appendix.

Customer Reviews