Music from the New York Stage 1890-1920, Vol. 4: 1917-1920

Music from the New York Stage 1890-1920, Vol. 4: 1917-1920


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Music from the New York Stage 1890-1920, Vol. 4: 1917-1920

The first three volumes of British archive label Pearl Records' four-volume history of Broadway show music from 1890-1920, while thorough, were marred by the curious lack of original cast recordings of major hits introduced in stage musicals. But by 1917, the major Broadway stars -- typified by the biggest of them, Al Jolson -- were also recording artists, so this problem is largely alleviated in the fourth volume, which spans the February 1917 opening of Jerome Kern's Oh, Boy! to the December 1919 opening of My Lady Friends. Of the songs that emerged from Broadway during that period to become #1 hits, the only one not heard on this triple-disc set is Irving Berlin's "Oh, How I Hate to Get Up in the Morning," and that's only because Berlin did not record it at that time. Not only are the rest of the era's chart-toppers included, but in many cases these are the hit recordings. Disc Two begins with 15 Jolson recordings, all credited to the show Sinbad -- none of which were in the official score, since Jolson simply interpolated songs into whatever stage vehicle he was in. The period spanning from the months just before the U.S. entry into World War I to the end of the 1910s combined operetta with musical revues and the intimate Princess Theatre musicals of Kern. After America got into the war, topical songs became common, but the most popular material was still humorous, and the most popular performers -- Jolson, Eddie Cantor, Fanny Brice, and others -- were comedians. So, the overall mood of these recordings is buoyant, even as the times were dramatic. This mood is well reflected in a 74-song set that, like each of the first four volumes, runs close to four hours. (Note that the sound quality, while good for unimproved tracks mastered from records from the era, does not remotely compare to 1990s standards.)

Product Details

Release Date: 11/18/1993
Label: Pearl
UPC: 0727031906124
catalogNumber: 9059


Disc 1

  1. Till the Clouds Roll By
  2. You Never Knew About Me
  3. Rolled into One
  4. Till the Clouds Roll By
  5. The Irish Have a Great Day to-Night @@Stiles, Vernon Quartet
  6. Ireland, My Sireland @@Stiles, Vernon Quartet
  7. Free Trade and a Misty Moon @@Greek Evans Ensemble
  8. The Irish Have a Great Day to-Night @@Scott Welsh Ensemble
  9. Awkward Age
  10. Six Times Six Is Thirty-Six
  11. I'd Like to Be a Monkey in the Zoo
  12. That's the Kind of Baby for Me
  13. Becky Is Back in the Ballet
  14. The Modern Maiden's Prayer
  15. No Place Like Home
  16. Maytime/Will You Remember
  17. The Wild Wild Women
  18. I'm the Brother of Lily of the Valley
  19. The Alegrias @@LaCalle's Spanish Orchestra
  20. Fancy You Fancying Me
  21. The Further It Is from Tipperary
  22. The If Only You Knew
  23. M-I-S-S-I-S-S-I-P-P-I
  24. Go-Zin-Go
  25. The Man Who Put the Germ in Germany
  26. Regretful Blues

Disc 2

  1. Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With a Dixie Melody
  2. Some Beautiful Morning
  3. inbad: On the Road to Calais
  4. Swanee
  5. Chloe
  6. There's a Lump of Sugar Down in Dixie
  7. Tell That to the Marines
  8. I'll Say She Does
  9. Hello Central, Give Me No Man's Land
  10. I Gave Her That
  11. I Wonder Why She Kept on Saying "Si-Si-Si-Si-Senor"
  12. Avalon
  13. 'N Everything
  14. You Ain't Heard Nothing Yet
  15. How'd You Like to Be My Daddy @@Farber Sisters
  16. I'm Always Chasing Rainbows
  17. I'm an Indian
  18. Hungarian Restaurant Scene
  19. Without You
  20. Prohibition Blues
  21. Just Like a Gypsy
  22. The Heart Bowed Down @@Henri Scott
  23. The Bull Frog Patrol

Disc 3

  1. I Always Think I'm up in Heaven
  2. Sahara
  3. Who Played Poker With Pocahontas?
  4. When They're Old Enough to Know Better
  5. My Baby's Arms
  6. When the Moon Shines on the Moonshine
  7. You Don't Need the Wine to Have a Wonderful Time
  8. Mandy
  9. You'd Be Surprised
  10. Tulip Time
  11. Sweet Kisses
  12. Oh, the Last Rose of Summer
  13. It's Nobody's Business But My Own
  14. I've Got My Captain Working for Me Now
  15. A Pretty Girl Is Like a Melody
  16. When My Baby Smiles at Me
  17. Oh, What a Girl!
  18. You Are Free
  19. Little Girls, Goodbye
  20. Alice Blue Gown
  21. Irene
  22. Castle of Dreams
  23. To Be Worthy of You
  24. Sky Rocket
  25. I Want to Spread a Little Sunshine

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Victor Herbert   Conductor
Jolson   Vocals,Track Performer
Eddie Cantor   Vocals,Track Performer
Fanny Brice   Vocals,Track Performer
Duncan Sisters   Vocals,Track Performer
John Steel   Vocals,Track Performer
Scott Welch   Vocals
Bert Williams   Vocals,Track Performer
Tom Powers   Vocals,Track Performer
Watson Sisters   Vocals,Track Performer
Sam Ash   Vocals,Track Performer
Nora Bayes   Vocals,Track Performer
Edith Day   Vocals,Track Performer
Harry Fox   Vocals,Track Performer
Jack Norworth   Vocals,Track Performer
Van & Schenck   Vocals,Track Performer
Anna Wheaton   Vocals,Track Performer
John Charles Thomas   Vocals,Track Performer
Irene Franklin   Vocals,Track Performer
Avon Comedy Four   Vocals,Track Performer
Esther Walker   Vocals,Track Performer
Fanny Watson   Vocals,Track Performer
Frances White   Vocals,Track Performer
Henry Lewis   Vocals,Track Performer

Technical Credits

Jolson   Composer
Dwight Blocker Bowers   Liner Notes
Buddy DeSylva   Composer
Sam M. Lewis   Composer
Jack Raymond   Producer
Joe Young   Composer
Alfred Bryan   Composer
Jean Schwartz   Composer
John Egan   Composer
James Hanley   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews