Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition, A Night on Bald Mountain, and Other Russian Showpieces

Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition, A Night on Bald Mountain, and Other Russian Showpieces

by Fritz ReinerFritz Reiner

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)

$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Music has the strange ability to conjure up visual images. In Pictures at an Exhibition Modest Mussorgsky commemorated an art exhibit by his late friend Victor Hartmann. Pictures is not just a musical representation of some fine drawings and paintings but also a touching record of the composer's reaction to his friend's work. In between the sonic depictions of the artwork are "promenades" -- a series of variations on a theme that reflect Mussorgsky's changing mood as he moved around the gallery. Originally composed for solo piano, Pictures is best known in Maurice Ravel's stunning orchestration. A Night on Bald Mountain (immortalized in Disney's animated film Fantasia) is a nightmarish vision, given here in the revised version by Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov. In the early days of stereo, RCA made a series of recordings capturing Fritz Reiner and the Chicago Symphony working at the peak of their powers. Not only is the superb sound quality still something to marvel at some 40 years later, but the interpretations remain unsurpassed in their virtuosity and dazzling color.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/2004
Label: Rca
UPC: 0828766139426
catalogNumber: 61394
Rank: 8316


  1. Pictures at an Exhibition (Kartinki s vïstavski), for orchestra, orchestrated by Ravel

    1. Promenade  (01:51)
    2. Gnomus  (02:34)
    3. Promenade  (01:05)
    4. Il vecchio castello  (04:27)
    5. Promenade  (00:34)
    6. Tuileries  (00:59)
    7. Bydlo  (03:25)
    8. Promenade  (00:44)
    9. Ballet of Chicks in Their Shells  (01:12)
    10. Samuel Goldenburg and Schmuyle  (02:13)
    11. The Marketplace at Limoges  (01:17)
    12. Catacombae, sepulchrum romanum  (01:56)
    13. Con mortuis in lingua mortua  (01:59)
    14. The Hut on Fowl's Legs  (03:28)
    15. The Great Gate at Kiev  (05:21)
  2. Suite No. 1 for orchestra in D minor, Op. 43: Marche miniature

    1. Marche miniature  (02:05)
  3. Night on Bald Mountain (Noch' na Lïsoy gore), symphonic poem, edited by Stokowski  (10:14)
  4. Prince Igor, opera (completed by Rimsky-Korsakov & Glazunov): Polovtsian March

    1. Polovtsian March  (04:48)
  5. Slavonic March, for orchestra, Op. 31  (10:29)
  6. Colas Breugnon (Kola Bryun'yon), suite from the opera, Op. 24a: Overture

    1. Overture  (04:48)
  7. Overture: Ruslan and Ludmilla, G. xivov  (05:19)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews