My Brother's Blood Machine

My Brother's Blood Machine

by The Prize Fighter Inferno


$14.25 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.25, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


My Brother's Blood Machine

If Claudio Sanchez's voice wasn't so damned distinctive, there'd be just about nothing tying his solo project the Prize Fighter Inferno to his primary progressive emo-rock band Coheed & Cambria. OK, sure, there's the story line that connects the two groups together, but if you can clearly decipher what's going on throughout My Brother's Blood Machine, props to you. According to Sanchez, this album is told from the point of view of Inferno, aka Coheed's brother Jesse, who died in Coheed & Cambria's 2005 album. The plot line of his story predates the whole saga that dominates C & C's albums, setting up the three-family feud known as the Amory Wars. The Blood Machine is basically some kind of contraption built by two brothers of the Bleam family -- whose mother tells them that they are the new "dealers of death" appointed by God -- used for catching souls once they leave the bodies of the dead. A young girl named Cecillia McCloud runs into the brothers in the woods while fleeing her abusive father and that's where the Prize Fighter album begins. Or at least something like that. Confused yet? Thankfully, the music of Sanchez's side project (one which he worked on intermittently for about seven years) is a million times more straightforward than the concept driving it. The album is primarily electronic-based indie rock that is so mellow and relaxing, it works well on a superficial level alone (never mind figuring the lyrics out) just as soothing background music. Sanchez uses only sparse instrumentation alongside his often-hushed singing, acoustic strumming appearing over gentle blips and electro flourishes. Because of the stark uniformity of the music, however, it's easy for listeners to get distracted, as there's not always much to keep one's attention focused. Now, this isn't wholly bad because Sanchez pulls everything off quite pleasantly; it's just that some ideas seem only half-finished (whether or not that was the intention), that one track often begins before a prior one even seems to have gotten started. So while several hit the mark -- like the Michael Jackson-esque "The Margretville Dance" or the subtle gloom of "Run, Gunner Recall, Run! The Town Wants You Dead!" -- and overall My Brother's Blood Machine is more hit than miss, but it's still a bit lacking and unsatisfying, especially considering the amount of time invested in the project. For overachieving Coheed & Cambria fans only.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/31/2006
Label: Equal Vision Records
UPC: 0794558113120
catalogNumber: 131
Rank: 168650


  1. The Going Price for Home
  2. The Fight of Moses Early & Sir Arthur McCloud
  3. Our Darling Daughter You Are, Little Cecillia Marie
  4. A Death in the Family
  5. The Margretville Dance
  6. Accidents
  7. Run, Gunner Recall, Run! The Town Wants You Dead!
  8. Who Watches the Watchmen?
  9. Wayne Andrews, The Old Bee Keeper
  10. The Missing McCloud Boys
  11. Easter
  12. 78
  13. [Untitled Track]
  14. [Untitled Track]
  15. [Untitled Track]
  16. [Untitled Track]
  17. [Untitled Track]
  18. [Untitled Track]
  19. [Untitled Track]
  20. [Untitled Track]
  21. [Untitled Track]
  22. [Untitled Track]
  23. [Untitled Track]
  24. [Untitled Track]
  25. [Untitled Track]
  26. [Untitled Track]
  27. [Untitled Track]
  28. [Untitled Track]
  29. [Untitled Track]
  30. [Untitled Track]
  31. [Untitled Track]
  32. [Untitled Track]
  33. [Untitled Track]
  34. [Untitled Track]
  35. [Untitled Track]
  36. [Untitled Track]
  37. [Untitled Track]
  38. [Untitled Track]
  39. [Untitled Track]
  40. [Untitled Track]
  41. [Untitled Track]
  42. [Untitled Track]
  43. [Untitled Track]
  44. [Untitled Track]
  45. [Untitled Track]
  46. [Untitled Track]
  47. [Untitled Track]
  48. [Untitled Track]
  49. [Untitled Track]
  50. [Untitled Track]
  51. [Untitled Track]
  52. [Untitled Track]
  53. [Untitled Track]
  54. [Untitled Track]
  55. [Untitled Track]
  56. [Untitled Track]
  57. [Untitled Track]
  58. [Untitled Track]
  59. [Untitled Track]
  60. [Untitled Track]
  61. [Untitled Track]
  62. [Untitled Track]
  63. [Untitled Track]
  64. [Untitled Track]
  65. [Untitled Track]
  66. [Untitled Track]
  67. [Untitled Track]
  68. [Untitled Track]
  69. [Untitled Track]
  70. [Untitled Track]
  71. [Untitled Track]
  72. [Untitled Track]
  73. [Untitled Track]
  74. [Untitled Track]
  75. [Untitled Track]
  76. [Untitled Track]
  77. [Untitled Track]
  78. [Untitled Track]

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My Brother's Blood Machine 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the most unique CD I can remember in recent memory. For those who don't know, this is the solo project of the frontman of Coheed & Cambria, Claudio Sanchez. This is such a strange CD that it's really hard to think of the work as a single entity instead of a track-by-track basis. Due to the CD's creation time of seven years, the sound quality and styles change severely from track to track. This ranges from gutter-quality techno that burns nicely on the ears to slick, catchy, almost-pop songs that you can't get out of your head. The CD is almost entirely experimental with some nice techno touches and some beautiful acoustic songs. While one or two songs fall a little flat, this is more-than-worthy album to justify the purchase. Any fan of Coheed & Cambria will easily enjoy this, and any music fan will want to try this ambient gem.