My Confection: Odyssey of a Sugar Addict

My Confection: Odyssey of a Sugar Addict

by Lisa Kotin


View All Available Formats & Editions


A funny, candid, and original coming-of-age story told through sugar addiction

She doesn’t drink or do drugs, but like millions of other Americans, Lisa Kotin has a substance abuse problem. Kotin is addicted to sugar. My Confection is a darkly funny and candid memoir of where sugar took this teenage mime when she left her San Francisco Bay Area home in pursuit of artistic greatness. From the strict macrobiotic house where she is kicked out for smuggling Snickers, to her early days of Overeaters Anonymous meetings where she is bewildered by the idea of submitting to a higher power, to the stylish shrink who suggests she figure out how many minutes of tennis equal the calories in one jelly donut, to the men she unwraps and consumes like cheap chocolate bars, Kotin careens from romantic disasters to caloric catastrophes. Original and surprisingly affecting, this portrait of a sugar addict has nothing to do with losing weight or getting fit but rather with coming out of the (sugar) closet, finding allies who understand, and learning how to live healthfully, in spite of her compulsion.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780807069257
Publisher: Beacon Press
Publication date: 01/05/2016
Pages: 248
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Lisa Kotin is a writer, director, actor, and performance artist based in Los Angeles. She graduated from New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts and went on to perform original shows combining physical comedy, monologues, and short films in the United States and United Kingdom. Kotin’s show Temporary Girl, which drew upon her experiences at 100+ temp jobs, is about a dysfunctional family as seen through the eyes of an office temp, and was adapted into a movie that Leonard Maltin praised as “bright and original, with the definite ring of truth.”

Table of Contents

Preface ix

Chapter 1 Macroneurotics 1

Chapter 2 Up the Yin Yang 12

Chapter 3 Belly of the Beast 25

Chapter 4 Shrink Rap 45

Chapter 5 Let the Bingeing Begin 51

Chapter 6 I Take the Cake 70

Chapter 7 Cookie Monster 79

Chapter 8 The First Bite 88

Chapter 9 Will Work for Sugar (and Sex) 98

Chapter 10 My Art 106

Chapter 11 Walking Chocolate Bar 111

Chapter 12 On Broadway 128

Chapter 13 A Womb of My Own 140

Chapter 14 As You Don't Like It 147

Chapter 15 Endgame 159

Chapter 16 Drama of the Gifted Child 171

Chapter 17 Cakewalk 181

Chapter 18 Psych Major 191

Chapter 19 Sugar Mountain 199

Chapter 20 Freefall 206

Chapter 21 Three Decades Later There Will (Still) Be Sugar 213

Acknowledgments 235

Customer Reviews