My Fair, My Dark EP

My Fair, My Dark EP

by Ida


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


My Fair, My Dark EP

With Levon Helm climbing onboard for two songs, My Fair, My Dark serves as reminder of Ida's folksy, country-leaning tendencies. The seven-song EP isn't all twang, of course; "Don't Wreck It," "Still Life," and the title track stick to the hushed, intimate sounds that earned the band its sadcore tag. But My Fair, My Dark sounds best during the remaining numbers, which feature close harmonies and competent fretwork on an array of mandolins, acoustic guitars, and ukuleles. Perhaps the most notable track is "All the Pain," an old-timey Dolly Parton cover that allows Elizabeth Mitchell to sing her rustic heart out. Elsewhere, the group covers John Martyn's "Road to Ruin" and Annie Brigg's "The Time Has Come," the latter track featuring gorgeous coed vocals and Daniel Littleton's fingerpicked guitar. Ida's two original songs can't hold a candle to such covers, but that's far from disconcerting, given the quality of the band's own compositions on Lovers Prayers (which was recorded at the same time as this effort) and the exemplary musicianship displayed throughout.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2008
Label: Polyvinyl Records
UPC: 0644110015822
catalogNumber: 158
Rank: 171720

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ida   Primary Artist
Michael Hurley   Viola,Group Member
Levon Helm   Mandolin,Drums,Group Member
Lincoln Schleifer   Bass,Group Member
Elizabeth Mitchell   Harmonium,Vocals,Group Member
Tara Jane O'Neil   Guitar,Group Member
Matthew Sutton   Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,Group Member
Peter Schickele   Piano,Group Member
Karla Schickele   Bass,Vocals,Wurlitzer,Group Member
Jean Cook   Violin,Group Member
Daniel Littleton   Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Vocals,Wurlitzer,Group Member

Technical Credits

Dolly Parton   Composer
John Martyn   Composer
Warren Defever   Producer,Audio Production
Justin Guip   Engineer
Tara Jane O'Neil   Artwork
Ida   Producer
Ida-Bandung   Composer
Billy Collins   Poetry
Sean Price   Engineer
Daniel Littleton   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews