My Five Stages of Grief: A Father's Journey to Recovery from Bereavement

My Five Stages of Grief: A Father's Journey to Recovery from Bereavement

by Darren Heart


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 23


Emotional Poetry Books

My Five Stages of Grief by Darren Heart is an emotional chronicle of the author's ten year journey to recovery and healing from the grief and overwhelming sense of loss caused by the tragic deaths of his long term partner, and shortly afterwards, his step son.

The Prologue for this book summarizes the author's moving love story up until the moment tragedy strikes at the heart of his family.

The main body of the book is represented by five chapters dedicated to the five stages of grief, namely; Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance. Each chapter is broken down to include a brief clinical definition for a particular stage, followed by the author's own observations and experiences, closing with a number of poems written by the author, intended to reflect upon the various emotions and thoughts experienced during that particular stage of the grieving process.

My Five Stages of Grief concludes with an Epilogue where the author describes life "post-acceptance", and offers words of hope, inspiration and encouragement to those who may be wading through the grief and mourning process, and feeling misunderstood or isolated.

Containing emotional, thought provoking, and inspirational poems related to the various five stages of grief, capturing the author's raw thoughts and emotions associated with each stage.

For those who have suffered the loss of a loved one, this book explores a mourner's need to acknowledge death and embrace the pain of loss and bereavement. Also explored are the many facets that make each individual's grief unique, and the many normal thoughts and feelings that someone currently grieving may have.

At one time or another, we will all find ourselves facing a dark journey through the grieving process. My Five Stages of Grief is written to provide support and comfort for a person who is in the wake of despair following the loss of a loved one.

This powerful book will help support readers throughout their five stages of grief by sharing a number of relate-able biographic experiences, breaking down the walls of isolation that can leave a mourner feeling utterly alone, in preparation for the end of the journey, peace.

Example Poem from MY Five Stages of Grief

A Castaway

Dark clouds of despair rolling above,

Obscures the peak of mount melancholy.

Surrounded by a rough sea of sadness,

Waves of woe crashing all over me.

Where is this place i have landed?

A castaway in a far off land.

Beaches of gloom and misery,

Great sorrow in each grain of sand.

I really need to escape here,

Build a raft from my dreams and hopes.

Leave unhappiness there on the shoreline,

And break free of these heavy heart ropes.

Depression is no laughing matter,

Dejection is not a great show.

But no blast of darkness can block out the light,

Just one match can make a room glow.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781499136210
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 04/13/2014
Pages: 90
Sales rank: 627,625
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 1 - 17 Years

About the Author

Born amid the rolling hills of Hampshire, South of the United Kingdom in 1968, Darren Heart has always found poetry a comfortable medium for expression. Love poems were a particular passion, although often passionate and private by nature. Indeed love poems often served as valuable communication tool with his long term partner.

Tragedy strikes the family when his partner becomes unwell, requiring significant surgery and a lengthy hospital stay. Once again romantic poetry steps in to lend a hand, with loving poetic messages tucked away in Get Well Soon cards.

Tragedy, unlike lightning, can indeed strike twice, only nine months later, her struggle for life comes to an end. Tragedy thrice, four days pass, Darren's step son sadly passed away from a massive heart attack, caused by the same genetic disorder that had taken his mother.

Heart-broken, overwhelmed by grief, and suffering the extra strain of new found single parenthood with their young child, Darren soon turned back to the pen, using poems and prose to document and help process his feelings.

Over the next ten years, Darren's writing, at the time not shared with the world, played an important role in his journey to recovery from such tragic bereavement and grief, and therefore now makes his poems available to the public. His goal is to provide some comfort to those who may be struggling with a similar journey.

With a preferred, easy to read poetry style, leaning towards Ballad and Tanka, Darren's writing captures and expresses raw emotions that often provoke a tingle down the spine, or bring a tear to the eye.

Visit for more information.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My Five Stages of Grief: A Father's Journey to Recovery from Bereavement 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must commend Darren Heart for creating such a captivating book of marvelous poems we can all relate to at some point in our lives. Death is such a real situation and a part of life for all of us, these outstanding and relatable poems are just what many readers need. A huge collection and great work by the author, a must read.