My Soul in Silence Waits: Meditations on Psalm 62

My Soul in Silence Waits: Meditations on Psalm 62

by Margaret Guenther


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20


“For God alone my soul in silence waits....” In these reflections on Psalm 62 Margaret Guenther provides the foundation for a time of reflection and retreat without ever leaving home. The book’s first chapter introduces us to ways of making a retreat wherever we are, at a place apart or in the midst of our daily lives. Guenther then offers eight meditations on Psalm 62, with its themes of waiting on God’s presence with patience, trust, and expectation. She explores the images the psalm evokes of longing, silence, waiting, safety, enemies, and God as a rock and refuge. As in all her books, Guenther finds new ways to explore these ancient themes with the wit and practicality of an accomplished storyteller. These eight meditations can be read consecutively over the course of a single day or weekend, or spaced over time with periods of reflection in between. Each meditation ends with ideas for further prayer and pondering. My Soul in Silence Waits is one of our series of Cowley Cloister Books: smaller format, gift edition books designed for meditative and devotional reading.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781561011810
Publisher: Cowley Publications
Publication date: 01/25/2000
Series: Cloister Books Series
Pages: 152
Sales rank: 865,099
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.14(h) x 0.45(d)

About the Author

MARGARET GUENTHER is formerly the director of the Center for Christian Spirituality at The General Theological Seminary. Now a full-time spiritual director and retreat and conference leader, she is the author of Holy Listening: The Art of Spiritual Direction, Toward Holy Ground: Spiritual Directions for the Second Half of Life, and The Practice of Prayer.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1. Longing Chapter 2. Silence Chapter 3. Waiting Chapter 4. Imagining Chapter 5. Enemies Chapter 6. Refuge Chapter 7. Weighing In Chapter 8. Listening

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews