My Soul Looks Back: The Genius of Marion Williams 1962-1992

My Soul Looks Back: The Genius of Marion Williams 1962-1992

by Marion WilliamsMarion Williams


$19.34 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.34, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


My Soul Looks Back: The Genius of Marion Williams 1962-1992 is an outstanding 25-track portrait of the legendary gospel singer in all of her glory. Listening to early sides like "Packin' Up" and "Surely God Is Able," it's easy to understand her influence on the likes of Little Richard and Aretha Franklin. These powerful songs are primal blasts of energy with all the cathartic transcendence more commonly attributed to rock & roll. Closer to R&B than any of her contemporaries, Williams also flirts playfully with the blues on cuts like "Dead Cat on the Line" and "It's Your Time Now But My Time After Awhile," and even dabbles in country on a cover of Roy Acuff's "The Great Speckled Bird." Whatever the setting, however, her voice is a marvel of improvisatory brilliance, her soprano never less than devastating. This is gospel at its finest.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/18/1994
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351601124
catalogNumber: 6011
Rank: 81332

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marion Williams   Primary Artist,Keyboards
Mary Lou Williams   Keyboards,Vocals
Hampton Carlton   Keyboards
Bobby Chesnutt   Keyboards
Carmine d'Amico   Guitar
Jonathan DuBose   Guitar
Marion Franklin   Keyboards
James Perry   Keyboards
Brother Roy   Drums
Frances Steadman   Vocals
Lloyd Gary   Keyboards
Gladys Gordon   Keyboards
Kitty Parham   Vocals
Henrietta Waddy   Vocals
Mattie Williams   Vocals
Eddie Brown   Keyboards
Robin Keith Williams   Drums
Jason Perry   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Roy Acuff   Composer
Willie Nelson   Composer
Marion Williams   Arranger,Cover Photo
Mary Lou Williams   Arranger
Roy Carter   Composer
Noah Evans   Engineer
Anthony Heilbut   Producer,Liner Notes
Rod Hui   Engineer
Phil & Brenda Nicholas   Composer
Guy Smith   Composer
David Starobin   Engineer
Sister Rosetta Tharpe   Composer
Michael Ewsaskow   Engineer
Mitch Dricun   Engineer
Stephen Fassett   Engineer
Kitty Parham   Back Cover
Joan Pelosi   Art Direction
David Gahr   Cover Photo
Victor Kalin   Liner Note Graphics
Mike Ewasko   Engineer
Mitch Kricun   Engineer
Traditional   Composer
Z. R. McEachen   Composer
C.A. Tindley   Composer
Helen Shedrick   Composer

Customer Reviews