Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
Nagarjuna on Mindfulness of the Buddha: Selected Readings on Mindfulness of the Buddha, the Pratyutpanna Samadhi, and Recollection of the Buddha

Nagarjuna on Mindfulness of the Buddha: Selected Readings on Mindfulness of the Buddha, the Pratyutpanna Samadhi, and Recollection of the Buddha

Paperback(Nmob-Eo-1019-1.0_paper ed.)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 3


"Nāgārjuna on Mindfulness of the Buddha" consists of three extended passages from Bhikshu Dharmamitra's original annotated translations from Sino-Buddhist Classical Chinese of works written by Ārya Nāgārjuna (circa 150 ce).

All three of these passages have been selected from Tripitaka Master Kumārajīva's early Fifth Century Sanskrit-to-Chinese translations of works by Nagarjuna, as follows:

1) "The Easy Practice" -- Nāgārjuna's Treatise on the Ten Grounds, Chapter 9;

2) "The Pratyutpanna Samadhi" -- Nāgārjuna's Treatise on the Ten Grounds, Chapters 20-25; and

3) "Recollection of the Buddha" -- Nāgārjuna's Exegesis on the Mahāprajnāpāramitā Sūtra, Chapter 1, Part 36-1"

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781935413141
Publisher: Kalavinka Press
Publication date: 10/30/2019
Series: Kalavinka Buddhist Classics
Edition description: Nmob-Eo-1019-1.0_paper ed.
Pages: 222
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.51(d)

About the Author

Nāgārjuna (circa 150 ce) was one of the most brilliant, famous, influential, and universally respected Buddhist treatise masters and exegetes in the history of Indian Buddhism.

Tripitaka Master Kumārajīva (344 - 413 ce) was one of the most prolific and popular of all translators in the history of Chinese Buddhism.

Bhikshu Dharmamitra (ordination name "Heng Shou" - 釋恆授) is a Chinese-tradition translator-monk and one of the earliest American disciples (since 1968) of the late Guiyang Ch'an patriarch, Dharma teacher, and pioneer of Buddhism in the West, the Venerable Master Hsuan Hua (宣化上人). He has a total of 34 years in robes during two periods as a monastic (1969‒1975 & 1991 to the present). Dharmamitra's principal educational foundations as a translator of Sino-Buddhist Classical Chinese lie in four years of intensive monastic training and Chinese-language study of classic Mahāyāna texts in a small-group setting under Master Hsuan Hua (1968-1972), undergraduate Chinese language study at Portland State University, a year of intensive one-on-one Classical Chinese study at the Fu Jen University Language Center near Taipei, two years of course work at the University of Washington's Department of Asian Languages and Literature (1988-90), and an additional three years of auditing graduate courses and seminars in Classical Chinese readings, again at UW's Department of Asian Languages and Literature.Since taking robes again under Master Hua in 1991, Dharmamitra has devoted his energies primarily to study and translation of classic Mahāyāna texts with a special interest in works by Ārya Nāgārjuna and related authors. To date, he has translated more than fifteen important texts comprising approximately 150 fascicles, including most recently the 80-fascicle Avataṃsaka Sūtra (the "Flower Adornment Sutra"), Nāgārjuna's 17-fascicle Daśabhūmika Vibhāśa ("Treatise on the Ten Grounds"), and the Daśabhūmika Sūtra (the "Ten Grounds Sutra"), all of which are current or upcoming Kalavinka Press publications.

Table of Contents

General Table of Contents

Dedication 5

Acknowledgments 7

List of Abbreviations 8

Outlining in This Work 8

General Table of Contents 9

Directory to Chapter Subsections 11

Translator’s Introduction 15

Nāgārjuna on Mindfulness of the Buddha 23

Part One: On the Easy Practice 27

(Treatise on the Ten Grounds, Ch. 9)

Part One Endnotes 47

Part Two: The Pratyutpanna Samadhi 51

(Treatise on the Ten Grounds, Ch. 20–25)

Ch. 20 - Mindfulness of the Buddhas 53

Ch. 21 - Forty Dharmas Exclusive to Buddhas (Part 1) 73

Ch. 22 - Forty Dharmas Exclusive to Buddhas (Part 2) 85

Ch. 23 - Forty Dharmas Exclusive to Buddhas (Part 3) 113

Ch. 24 - Verses Offered in Praise 142

Ch. 25 - Teachings to Aid Mindfulness-of-the-Buddha Samādhi 153

Part Two Endnotes 171

Part Three: On Recollection of the Buddha 185

(Exegesis on the Mahāprajñāpāramitā Sutra – Ch.1, Part 36-1) 187

Part Three Endnotes 201

Bibliography 203

Glossary 205

About the Translator 217

Kalavinka Buddhist Classics’ Current Title List 219

Customer Reviews