National Jazz Ensemble (1975-1976)

National Jazz Ensemble (1975-1976)

by National Jazz Ensemble


$9.49 $9.99 Save 5% Current price is $9.49, Original price is $9.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


National Jazz Ensemble (1975-1976)

Chuck Israels directs the National Jazz Ensemble on this collection of three fine LPs recorded in 1975 and 1976. The repertory ensemble plays 16 compositions that are a testament to the group's technical, creative, and orchestral excellence. Included are such classics as Count Basie's "Every Tub," which was written in 1938. The ensemble plays it as an archetypical riff arrangement, loosely structured and full of trademarks from the Basie band of the period. Also included is Jelly Roll Morton's "Black Bottom Stomp," written in 1926 and music that still expresses itself directly to the listener today. The National Jazz Ensemble undertakes everything from early Ellington through Bill Evans with the utmost sense of improvisational styles from earlier jazz periods, while employing solos and accompaniment that are more recent to ourselves. Horace Silver's "Room 608" is driving and solidly structured, while "Solar Complexes," written by Chuck Israels, is based on the chord changes and some melodic ideas structured in alternating sections for soloist and ensemble. Overall, this is a tightly orchestrated version of some of America's most innovative music that has stood the test of time.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/22/2002
Label: Chiaroscuro Records
UPC: 0091454014026
catalogNumber: 140
Rank: 172210

Album Credits

Performance Credits

National Jazz Ensemble   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Bill Evans   Piano
Jimmy Knepper   Trombone
Lee Konitz   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Mike Lawrence   Trumpet
Chuck Israels   Bass
Rod Levitt   Trombone
Sal Nistico   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
John Clark   French Horn
Dennis Anderson   Clarinet,Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Benny Aronov   Piano
Kenny Berger   Trumpet,Saxophone
Gerry Chamberlain   Trombone
Lawrence Feldman   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Steve Gilmore   Bass
Tom Harrell   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Danny Hayes   Trumpet
Gregory Herbert   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Arnie Lawrence   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Tom Maxwell   Trumpet
Joe Randazzo   Trombone
Joe Romano   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Lisle Atkinson   Bass
Steve Brown   Guitar

Technical Credits

Lawrence Brown   Composer
Chuck Israels   Arranger,Producer
Louis Armstrong   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Gil Evans   Orchestration
Lawrence Feldman   Arranger
Lil Hardin   Composer
Dan Morgenstern   Liner Notes
Hank O'Neal   Producer
Hall Overton   Arranger
Don Raye   Composer
Martin Williams   Liner Notes
David Berger   Composer
Lil Hardin Armstrong   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews