Navigation: The OMD B-Sides

Navigation: The OMD B-Sides

by Orchestral Manoeuvres in the DarkOrchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark

CD(Dutch Import)

$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 26


Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD) were a clever, unique synth band from the 1980s and early '90s. They produced some of the catchiest and most melodic dance songs of that decade. However, they always had an experimental side to them (as evidenced on the Peel Sessions, 1979-1983) of which only true fans are aware. They used the B-sides of their singles to stretch their imagination and that of the listeners, and finally most of these non-album tracks have finally been collected on one CD. Many of these songs were never released outside of England and Europe, so North American fans can now delight in such brilliant songs as "Almost" (available here in a previously unissued version), "Annex," and their wonderful cover of Lou Reed's "Waiting for the Man" to name three. The CD is nicely packaged and well annotated. A lot of the music is instrumental and not what casual fans are used to hearing from OMD, but it is no less enjoyable than their biggest hits. Actually, this makes a necessary companion for their hits compilation, The OMD Singles (1998). A must for fans. This is yet another great compilation from OMD and Virgin in that it provides fans and collectors with important music in one collection. The only criticism is the editing of the brilliant "66 & Fading" from its original six minutes to just over two.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/14/2001
Label: Emi Europe Generic
UPC: 0724381024829
catalogNumber: 8102482


  1. Almost
  2. I Betray My Friends
  3. Waiting For the Man/Taking Sides Again
  4. Annex
  5. Sacred Heart
  6. Romance of the Telescope (Unfinished)
  7. Navigation
  8. 4-Neu
  9. 66 and Fading
  10. Her Body in My Soul
  11. Avenue
  12. Garden City
  13. Concrete Hands
  14. Firegun
  15. This Town
  16. Gravity Never Failed
  17. Burning
  18. Sugar Tax
  19. (Angels Keep Turning) The Wheels of the Universe

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Malcolm Holmes   Drums
Andy McCluskey   Bass,Keyboards,Vocals
Paul Humphreys   Keyboards,Vocals
Martin Cooper   Bass,Guitar

Technical Credits

Rhett Davies   Producer
Stephen Hague   Producer
Malcolm Holmes   Composer
Mike Howlett   Producer
Richard Manwaring   Producer
Andy McCluskey   Composer,Producer
Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark   Producer
Brian Tench   Producer
Paul Collister   Producer
Paul Humphreys   Composer,Producer
McCluskey   Producer
Martin Cooper   Composer

Customer Reviews