Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes

Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes

by Svante Paabo

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 24

Overview

A preeminent geneticist hunts the Neanderthal and Denisovan genomes to answer the biggest question of them all: how did our ancestors become human?

Neanderthal Man tells the riveting personal and scientific story of the quest to use ancient DNA to unlock the secrets of human evolution. Beginning with the study of DNA in Egyptian mummies in the early 1980s and culminating in the sequencing of the Neanderthal genome in 2010, Neanderthal Man describes the events, intrigues, failures, and triumphs of these scientifically rich years through the lens of the pioneer and inventor of the field of ancient DNA. We learn that Neanderthal genes offer a unique window into the lives of our ancient relatives and may hold the key to unlocking the mysteries of where language came from as well as why humans survived while Neanderthals went extinct. Pääbo redrew our family tree and permanently changed the way we think about who we are and how we got here. For readers of Richard Dawkins, David Reich, and Hope Jahren, Neanderthal Man is the must-read account of how he did it.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780465054954
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication date: 03/24/2015
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 326,084
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 2.80(d)

About the Author

Svante Pääbo is the founder of the field of ancient DNA. The director of the department of genetics at the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Pääbo has been featured in the New York Times, Newsweek, National Geographic, and The Economist, as well as on NPR, PBS, and BBC. In 2009 Time named him one of the 100 Most Influential People in the World. Pääbo lives in Leipzig, Germany.

Table of Contents

Preface xi

Chapter 1 Neanderthal ex Machina 1

Chapter 2 Mummies and Molecules 23

Chapter 3 Amplifying the Past 37

Chapter 4 Dinosaurs in the Lab 49

Chapter 5 Human Frustrations 63

Chapter 6 A Croatian Connection 75

Chapter 7 A New Home 81

Chapter 8 Multiregional Controversies 91

Chapter 9 Nuclear Tests 99

Chapter 10 Going Nuclear 105

Chapter 11 Starting the Genome Project 117

Chapter 12 Hard Bones 129

Chapter 13 The Devil in the Details 143

Chapter 14 Mapping the Genome 153

Chapter 15 From Bones to Genome 159

Chapter 16 Gene Flow? 169

Chapter 17 First Insights 179

Chapter 18 Gene Flow! 185

Chapter 19 The Replacement Crowd 197

Chapter 20 Human Essence? 205

Chapter 21 Publishing the Genome 215

Chapter 22 A Very Unusual Finger 227

Chapter 23 A Neanderthal Relative 239

Postscript 251

Notes 255

Index 261

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes 2.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
The title of this book "Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes" masks the author's repeated and unnecessary references to his bisexual agenda. This is one deception too many for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago