ISBN-10:
0062416618
ISBN-13:
9780062416612
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
A Necessary End (Inspector Alan Banks Series #3)

A Necessary End (Inspector Alan Banks Series #3)

by Peter Robinson

Paperback(Reissue)

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 21

Overview

In the tradition of Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George, this masterful novel of suspense—from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson—spins a story of professional jealousy that could result in more than one murder.

A peaceful demonstration in the normally quiet town of Eastvale ends with fifty arrests—and the brutal stabbing death of a young constable. But Chief Inspector Alan Banks fears there is worse violence in the offing. For CID Superintendent Richard Burgess has arrived from London to take charge of the investigation, fueled by professional outrage and volatile, long-simmering hatreds.

Almost immediately, Burgess descends with vengeful fury upon the members of a sixties-style commune—while Banks sifts through the rich Yorkshire soil around him, turning over the earthy, unsettling secrets of seemingly placid local lives. Crossing Burgess could cost the Chief Inspector his career. But the killing of a flawed Eastvale policeman is not the only murder that needs to be solved here. And if Banks doesn't unmask the true assassin, his superior's misguided obsession might well result in further bloodshed.

Peter Robinson once again explores the human psyche in a novel that demonstrates how our weaknesses can lead to deadly consequences.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062416612
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 11/10/2015
Series: Inspector Alan Banks Series , #3
Edition description: Reissue
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 234,249
Product dimensions: 5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.94(d)

About the Author

One of the world’s most popular and acclaimed writers, Peter Robinson is the best-selling, award-winning author of the DCI Banks series; he has also written two short-story collections and three stand-alone novels, which combined have sold more than ten million copies around the world. Among his many honors and prizes are the Edgar Award, the CWA (UK) Dagger in the Library Award, and the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy Martin Beck Award.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"Thoughtful.... Vivid.... Challenging.... Like the region that breeds them, the people in Robinson's mystery flaunt their colors but keep their secrets." —-The New York Times Book Review

Customer Reviews