Neeme Järvi conducts Saint-Saëns

Neeme Järvi conducts Saint-Saëns

by Neeme Jarvi

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)

$18.99 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 2


Camille Saint-Saëns was one of the most versatile and brilliant composers of the late 19th century, but out of his impressive oeuvre only a few of his orchestral works are still regularly played today, namely, "Carnival of the Animals," the "Symphony No. 3, Organ," the "Piano Concerto No. 2," and a smattering of symphonic poems. This 2012 Chandos SACD by Neeme Järvi and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra is a round-up of the short pieces that are consistently performed, including the Bacchanale from the opera "Samson et Dalila," the symphonic poems "Le Rouet d'Omphale," "Phaéton," "La jeunesse d'Hercule," and the Halloween treat, "Danse macabre," along with a number of neglected pieces that were much more popular decades ago. Listeners can be forgiven for rushing to play tracks 1-5, because their name recognition and tunefulness make them perfect ice-breakers to lead newcomers into the less familiar works, such as the "Overture to La princess jaune," "Une nuit à Lisbonne," "Spartacus," and the two marches. They also have catchy melodies and colorful scoring, and while they may not be widely programmed on concerts and CDs, Järvi and his musicians have given them vivid performances that are worth keeping in the catalog and well worth hearing.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/26/2012
Label: Chandos
UPC: 0095115510421
catalogNumber: 5104
Rank: 92518


  1. Coronation March, for orchestra in C major, Op. 117
  2. Spartacus Overture, for orchestra in E flat major
  3. Une nuit à Lisbonne, barcarolle for orchestra in E flat major, Op. 63
  4. La princesse jaune, opera (opéra-comique) in 1 act, Op. 30: Overture
  5. Suite algérienne, for orchestra in C major, Op. 60: 4. Marche militaire française
  6. La jeunesse d'Hercule, symphonic poem in E flat major, Op. 50
  7. Danse macabre, symphonic poem in G minor, Op. 40
  8. Phaéton, symphonic poem in C major, Op. 39
  9. Le Rouet d'Omphale, symphonic poem in A major, Op. 31
  10. Samson et Dalila, opera in 3 acts, Op. 47: Act 3. Danse bacchanale

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews