Negrophobia: An Urban Parable

Negrophobia: An Urban Parable

by Darius James, Amy Abugo Ongiri

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

A provocative, raucous dark comedy about race and racism in America, now back in print after twenty-five years and with a new preface by the author.

Darius James’s scabrous, unapologetically raunchy, truly hilarious, and deeply scary Negrophobia is a wild-eyed reckoning with the mutating insanity of American racism. A screenplay for the mind, a performance on the page, a work of poetry, a mad mix of genres and styles, a novel in the tradition of William S. Burroughs and Ishmael Reed that is like no other novel, Negrophobia begins with the blonde bombshell Bubbles Brazil succumbing to a voodoo spell and entering the inner darkness of her own shiny being. Here crackheads parade in the guise of Muppets, Muslims beat conga drums, Negroes have numbers for names, and H. Rap Remus demands the total and instantaneous extermination of the white race through spontaneous combustion. By the end of it all, after going on a weird trip for the ages, Bubbles herself is strangely transformed.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781681373485
Publisher: New York Review Books
Publication date: 02/19/2019
Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 766,390
File size: 899 KB

About the Author

Darius James (b. 1954) is a writer and spoken-word performance artist. He is also the author of That’s Blaxploitation!: Roots of the Baadasssss ’Tude (Rated X by an All-Whyte Jury); Voodoo Stew; and Froggie Chocolate’s Christmas Eve. His writing has appeared in multiple publications, including The Village Voice, Vibe, and Spin, and he is the co-writer and narrator of the 2012 film The United States of Hoodoo. He lives in Connecticut.

Amy Abugo Ongiri is an associate professor and the Jill Beck Director of Film Studies at Lawrence University. She is the author of Spectacular Blackness: The Cultural Politics of the Black Power Movement and the Search for a Black Aesthetic and her writing has appeared in The Journal of African American History, the Los Angeles Review of Books, Postmodern Culture, and other publications.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Negrophobia: An Urban Parable 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago