Never Again: Rock Against Racism and the Anti-Nazi League 1976-1982

Never Again: Rock Against Racism and the Anti-Nazi League 1976-1982

by David Renton


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16


By 1976, the National Front had become the fourth largest party in Britain. In a context of national decline, racism and fears that the country was collapsing into social unrest, the Front won 19 per cent of the vote in elections in Leicester and 100,000 votes in London.

In response, an anti-fascist campaign was born, which combined mass action to deprive the Front of public platforms with a mass cultural movement. Rock Against Racism brought punk and reggae bands together as a weapon against the right.

At Lewisham in August 1977, fighting between the far right and its opponents saw two hundred people arrested and fifty policemen injured. The press urged the state to ban two rival sets of dangerous extremists. But as the papers took sides, so did many others who determined to oppose the Front.

Through the Anti-Nazi League hundreds of thousands of people painted out racist graffiti, distributed leaflets and persuaded those around them to vote against the right. This combined movement was one of the biggest mass campaigns that Britain has ever seen.

This book tells the story of the National Front and the campaign which stopped it.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781138502710
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
Publication date: 12/26/2018
Series: Routledge Studies in Fascism and the Far Right Series
Pages: 192
Product dimensions: 6.25(w) x 9.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

David Renton is a British barrister, historian and author. His previous books include Fascism: Theory and Practice (1999), Fascism, Anti-Fascism and Britain in the 1940s (2000), This Rough Game: Fascism and Anti-Fascism (2001), British Fascism, the Labour Movement and the State (2004, with Nigel Copsey) and When We Touched the Sky: The Anti-Nazi League 1977–1981 (2006).

Table of Contents

1. In England, dreaming

2. A history of coups and expulsions

3. The other young believers

4. Reggae, soul, rock 'n' roll

5. Lewisham

6. Even God has joined the Anti-Nazi League

7. We all got high, we touched the sky

8. Southall

9. Keeping on keeping on

10 Conclusion

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews