Never Tell (Ellie Hatcher Series #4)

Never Tell (Ellie Hatcher Series #4)

by Alafair Burke
4.1 31

Paperback(Large Print)

$24.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Never Tell (Ellie Hatcher Series #4) by Alafair Burke

Detective Ellie Hatcher will be forced to uncover the truth behind the apparent suicide of a teenaged girl with intriguing connections to both New York’s wealthiest—and its most dispossessed.

This addictive thriller from acclaimed suspense writer Alafair Burke draws its details from the author’s own experiences as a criminal law professor and deputy district attorney, creating an exhilarating, true-to-life tale of crime and its consequences that is perfect for fans of Laura Lippman, Harlan Coben, and Burke’s breakout standalone thriller Long Gone.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062128447
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/19/2012
Series: Ellie Hatcher Series , #4
Edition description: Large Print
Pages: 496
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Alafair Burke is a New York Times bestselling author whose novels include the standalone thrillers The Ex, Long Gone and If You Were Here, and the Ellie Hatcher series: All Day and a Night, Never Tell, 212, Angel’s Tip, and Dead Connection. She is also the coauthor of the Under Suspicion series with Mary Higgins Clark. A former prosecutor, she is now a professor of criminal law and lives in Manhattan.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Never Tell: A Novel of Suspense 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is such a great read for those who like suspense & think you have the story figured out but then it shifts gears; i can not put this book down without wondering who did it & why
BookReflections More than 1 year ago
Never Tell is a complicated and intriguing tale where nothing is as it seems.  Detective Ellie Hatcher is called to the scene of an apparent suicide.  The victim is sixteen year-old Julia Whitmore, daughter of a Rock Star and a student at an exclusive prep school.  Julia's parents are convinced that she would never attempt suicide, while Ellie--all to familiar with the denial of a family in pain--prepares to move on.  She's soon called back in when one detail stands out, requiring closure.  What Ellie assumes will be an open and shut case becomes increasingly complex when the mother of Julia's best friend begins receiving threats on her personal blog.  Ellie believes that the incidents are connected and that her initial assumptions might just be wrong. Oh what a refreshing read!  At its heart this is an intriguing mystery with enough unanswered questions to keep me guessing from beginning to end.  While the suicide/murder question didn't excite me, the intricate web that resulted from it drew me in from beginning to end.  Instead of trying to solve the mystery, I was quite content in sitting back and enjoying the ride.  I loved that the mystery wasn't solved all at once in a quick wrap-up at the end. It was solved bit by bit with surprises at every turn of the page.  I was impressed with the character development where we learn the histories of the characters. Because of this I gained an interesting perspective on their lives and decisions.  People are not who they seem.  Overall, I found this to be a great mystery with a realistic feel and though-provoking characters.  Definitely stands apart from many in the genre.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
booklover- More than 1 year ago
ANOTHER HIT IN THE ELLIE HATCHER SERIES .........................This is the continuing story of Ellie Hatcher, NYPD Homicide Detective and her partner, Detective Rogan. This time around, the detectives are called to the home of a very wealthy resident, who states she found her daughter dead in the bathtub. The first responders, the Medical Examiner all say the teenager committed suicide as there is also a handwritten note next to her. Ellie also agrees nothing looks out of place and decides there is no reason homicide should get involved. Except.. the girl's mother is adamant that her daughter was murdered. I've been following Ellie Hatcher and Alafair Burke for awhile. Ellie is the type of female detective that I like. She's tough on the outside and has tons of issues to deal with. One of those issues is that her own father committed suicide, so this particular case has a lot of meaning for her. Her partner, Rogan, is brave enough to weather the storms that Hatcher produces with her sarcasm, wit, moods. If you like female law enforcement, will probably really like Ellie Hatcher. Solid 4 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Five stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very much enjoyed this. Sevrral plot twist and a gotcha all the way to the end. I enjoyed 212 as well. Will go back and read the first in this series as well. Keep em coming Ms. BURKE!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sounded like an interesting plot, but it read like a high school writing assignment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A careless, biased, utterly unsympathetic protagonist made this book entirely unreadable. Hey, it is not actually necessary to make the cops both unlikeable AND incompetent..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
StephWard More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars 'Never Tell' is the fourth installment in the Ellie Hatcher series, but can be read as a standalone novel. It tells the story of Julia Whitmire, a popular rich girl from NYC who has apparently committed suicide. Ellie and her partner are assigned to the case when Julia's parents insist that their daughter was murdered. Soon the both Ellie and the reader are caught in a tangle of lies, deceipt, secrets, and teenage pressure. Ellie must put aside her own personal demons in order to get Julia the justice she deserves. This was a fantastically written mystery/thriller novel that had me completely hooked from the first paragraph. There are lots of story lines happening at once throughout the book, so there are several smaller plots and mysteries that the reader has to keep up with, which only makes it harder to put down. Ellie is a great main character. She's a strong, intelligent, and capable detective who works hard and empathizes easily with the victims of the cases she works on. I found her easy to identify with and immediately liked her as the heroine. The other characters were well written, even the ones that barely made a ripple in the story, so much so that they all left a distinct impression on me as I read about them; it was easy to believe that they were real people mixed up in this girl's death. The plot wasn't anything completely unique, but the way the author wrote it was very perceptive and engaging that I felt like I was working the case alongside Ellie and trying to figure out what really happened. Like any good thriller or mystery, the story had several twists and turns that I didn't see coming - which only made me more determined to figure out the truth and had me reading as fast as I could to see what was going to happen next. The writing was phenomenal with a fast pace, believable dialogue, and effortless flow. Although there are several story lines happening at once throughout the novel, I never felt confused between them and they only deepened the intrigue that the author created. This is definitely a novel, as well as a series, that mystery and thriller fans will want to start reading - if they haven't done already. The author proves herself to be a major player in the genre and I'm eagerly awaiting her next release. Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
Twink More than 1 year ago
I only 'discovered' Alafair Burke a couple of years ago when I picked up 212 - the third in a series featuring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher. I remember thinking at that time 'why is this author not already on my 'must read' list'? (She was promptly added!) Never Tell is the fourth book in the Hatcher series. Burke piques our interest with the opening prologue - an entry from a blog - "Second Acts: Confessions of a Former Victim and Current Survivor." Cut to Ellie and her partner Rogan - they've been called out to what appears to be a clear cut suicide. But the dead girl is young - and her parents are rich and influential. Her mother insists her daughter would never kill herself. Ellie thinks the call is a waste of her time and believes the death is exactly what it appears to be. Rogan - he's got his doubts. And it turns out he's right. A chastened Hatcher approaches the case with a new attitude. And what she finds........ Ellie is a great protagonist. She's real and fallible, but at the same time tough, dogged and determined. I enjoyed the secondary story line of Ellie's love life - her relationship with Max, an NYC Assistant District Attorney. I always like to get to 'know' a character's life and follow the changes throughout a series. Rogan works as a good foil to Ellie's personality. They are complete opposites, but work well together. Their dialogue is easy and entertaining. Burke has again come up with a plot populated with enough false leads and twists to keep me wondering 'whodunit' until the last few chapters. Never Tell kept me interested from first to last page. Burke has worked as a criminal prosecutor and currently teaches criminal law. That insider knowledge gives her writing an added punch and a dose of reality. A recommended series. Fans of Lisa Gardner and Linda Fairstein would enjoy Alafair Burke's books. I'm looking forward to her next book - a stand alone called If You Were Here, releasing in June 2013.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got this book from the library. Had never heard of this author. Glad I took the chance. I had a hard time putting it down. A very good read. I will be reading more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book ok . Decent plot line. The story seemed to speed up and then slow down throughout. Must admit though that out of the ellie hatcher series, i liked this one the least. Still worth a read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good story by Alafair Burke. She keeps you on your toes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago