New European Poets

New European Poets


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, September 27 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 


New European Poets by Wayne Miller

A major anthology spanning the diversity of the latest poetry to come out of Europe

New European Poets presents the works of poets from across Europe. In compiling this landmark anthology, Wayne Miller and Kevin Prufer enlisted twenty-four regional editors to select 270 poets whose writing was first published after 1970. These poets represent every country in Europe, and many of them are published here for the first time in English and in the United States. The resulting anthology collects some of the very best work of a new generation of poets who have come of age since Paul Celan, Anna Akhmatova, Federico García Lorca, Eugenio Montale, and Czeslaw Milosz.

The poetry in New European Poets is fiercely intelligent, often irreverent, and engaged with history and politics. The range of styles is exhilarating—from the lyric intimacy of Portuguese poet Rosa Alice Branco to the profane prose poems of Romanian poet Radu Andriescu, from the surrealist bravado of Czech poet Sylva
Fischerová to the survivor's cry of Russian poet Irina Ratushinskaya. Poetry translated from more than thirty languages is represented, including French, German, Spanish, and Italian, and more regional languages such as Basque, Irish Gaelic, and Sámi.

In its scope and ambition, New European Poets is destined to be a seminal anthology, an important vehicle for American readers to discover the extraordinary poetry being written across the Atlantic.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781555974923
Publisher: Graywolf Press
Publication date: 03/18/2008
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 6.49(w) x 8.65(h) x 1.28(d)

About the Author

Wayne Miller is the author of a book of poems, Only the Senses Sleep, and co-translator of I Don't Believe in Ghosts by Moikom Zeqo. Kevin Prufer is the author of four books of poems, including National Anthem.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

New European Poets 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago